Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Another Early Birthday Present!

shine-award

March is turning out to be a great month! There’s St. Patrick’s Day–my favorite green holiday–which is also my birthday! And there’s a birthday trip to Ft. Myers to meet and greet some of my favorite authors at a Book Festival, in the company of my best friend and reading buddy. And then there’s the early release of the Green Anthology, in which I happen to have a poem included, much to my delight. And now, I’ve been nominated by Caitlin Stern Writes for the Shine On Award.  Thank you so much, Caitlin.  I’m really pleased to accept your nomination, and I’d like to thank my mother, my father, my…oh, wait. Wrong award ceremony! I’ll just thank YOU, Caitlin, and happily accept your award.  And such a pretty one, too.

The Shine On Award Rules:

  • Link back to and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Post the badge on your blog.
  • Answer the questions posed to you.
  • Nominate five bloggers who shine a little light in your day and notify them.
  • Ask five questions for your nominees.

My Answers to Caitlin’s Questions

1. What books are you currently reading?

I’m just finishing up Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim, and getting ready to start Chloe Neil’s House Rules and/or Patricia Brigg’s Frost Burned.

2.  Where do you go when you are seeking inspiration?

If we are talking inspiration in general, for getting through daily life, I usually rely on my garden or the woods. I find being surrounded by growing things, birds, butterflies, and a bit of wildlife is very restorative. Daily inspiration also comes from reading, in particular things like Sarah ban Breathnach’s Simple Abundance, which taught me to keep a gratitude journal and to see life as an on-going adventure and a gift to be treasured. Inspiration for writing comes from, well, pretty much everything. All of the above, plus people I’ve met and things that have happened to me.  Way TMI, I know, but hey. You asked. 😀

3.  What’s your favorite time of day? And why?

Morning. It’s a new beginning and a chance to do everything better. A clean slate. I like that. But then, there is the comfort of settling down in my Comfy Chair at the close of day, too, with my latest book, and the dogs and cats curled up all over me. I like that, as well. But I’m sticking with morning. You just never know what the day will bring.

4.  Do you prefer to write longhand or type, and why? 

Easy. Type. It’s much, much faster, and my longhand has gotten pretty crummy looking over the years. And typing on a computer is so much better than in the OLD days when I had to use a manual typewriter.  I remember how thrilled I was when the first electric ones came out, and IBM was king. Now, I wouldn’t trade my computer for anything. Except whatever the next great thing will be.

5.  What do you do to procrastinate when you’re supposed to be writing?

Ummm…truthfully, writing is my procrastination when I’m supposed to be doing OTHER things. I’d rather write than just about anything. Emails, blogs, stories, whatever. I just like to write, and the laundry piles up, and the dishes threaten to get moldy, and the cats whine about their litter box. Eeep. Yeah, I’d rather be writing than anything else, except reading, of course.

My Nominations

Ned’s Blog – Ned now owes me at least 2 new keyboards due to making me snort Earl Grey all over mine. His blog is FUNNY, folks!

Stevil – Steve writes a very entertaining blog, often featuring his beautiful red & white pointer, Penny, but just as often featuring his own brand of humor and wit.

The Garden Cat – Francois is a new blog friend from South Africa, who is totally smitten with his kitten, Gwendolen, and takes the most gorgeous photos of her.

Sharechair – Sharechair’s blog remains one of the best ways I’ve found to keep up with new technology if you aren’t a technically inclined person. I’ve learned tons from her.

DLFwriting – This is a new blog for me, and so far, I’m really glad I found it. Lots of fun and interesting stuff on writing. I plan to visit often.

My Five Questions for my Nominees

1. If you could spend an afternoon picking the brain of any writer, living or deceased, who would it be and why?

2. Are you now, or have you ever been, a person who reads the ending of a book before the rest of the book? Do you look ahead, even a little bit? Why?

3. If you had to choose between writing a hugely popular, best selling novel as opposed to one with weighty significance and great insight into the human condition, but that would never gain a big audience, which would you choose? In other words, something probably important but not necessarily popular, versus something that made thousands of people laugh or cry, but likely has no lasting significance?

4. How long do you give a book to really pull you into the story before you pitch it onto the “Wasted My Money On That One” pile?

5. Name three books made into films where the casting (or PART of the casting) was so appallingly bad you could barely watch the movie.  How about three that actually got it right? (OK, that’s probably two questions, but they’re related, so I’m going for it.)

And there you have it.  Thanks again, Caitlin, for nominating me, and I’ll be putting the award up in a permanent spot in my sidebar shortly.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Another Early Birthday Present!

  1. Thank you for the nomination, Marcia! I’m going to have to give those questions some thought …. you made up some good ones! 🙂

    Like

    • Oooh, goodie! I can’t wait to see your answers, SC, and who you nominate in turn. These things are such good ways to discover new bloggers that you might enjoy. I love them. Even when I’m not nominated, I often read through the lists on other blogs, and check out some of the ones they mention.

      Like

  2. Ahh! A morning person! The horrors!
    Just kidding. Mostly…
    Great answers, and interesting questions. I’ll be sure to check out your nominees soon.

    Like

    • Oh, I don’t actually like getting UP in the morning, but I have to due to two yappy, persistent little dachshunds who want out. It’s just that once I AM up, I love mornings. I take my tea out to the patio, and watch the cardinals feeding their babies, and see which roses are blooming, and think about all the possibilities the day might bring. I’m always optimistic in the morning.

      I enjoyed answering the questions, Caitlin, and glad you liked reading them. I can’t wait to see everyone’s answers, myself. I’ve heard back from Ned, Sharechair, and Francois, but only Francois has actually answered, so far. (Hey, the rest of you…don’t make me come UP there!!!)

      😀

      Like

  3. Thanks for the tip of the hat! I will definitely answer your questions this week!

    It’s funny — I type so much during the day, but our lab notebooks still have to be done by hand, so I spend a different part of my day writing out longhand — well, printing that is! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Steve! Can’t wait to read your answers. Longhand??? *shudder* (And to think I once got A’s in penmanship! *Looking at all the young folks asking “What the heck is penmanship?”*

      I’ll be out of town this weekend, but I’ll be watching for your post next week.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Shine On! | DLFwriting

  5. Hey Marcia! Thanks for the Shine On award. You can check out my post here: http://dlfwriting.com/2013/03/24/shine-on/

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

