Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey

5776788

My Rating: 3-1/2 Stars of 5…(I think)

Well. Sandman Slim is one of those books that makes me crazy. I love it. I hate it. It’s hilarious. It’s disgusting. It’s dark and disturbing. It’s so over the top, it’s silly. It’s all of the above, and probably a whole lot more I haven’t even thought of yet. And I thought every one of of these things while reading it, from one page to the next. I would decide to just scrap it because it was annoying me half to death, and then I’d decide it was really fascinating–in the same way watching a spider eat a fly is–so I’d read a little more. Somehow it kept me moving forward through the whole story, so it had something going for it, even if I don’t  know what it was.

Kadrey’s writing can be quite strong at times, and I love some of his turns of phrase. The world building was pretty interesting, too. Those are some very important factors for sure. But–you knew there was a “but” coming, didn’t you?–I really did not like the main character. (That would be Sandman Slim, himself). It is hard for me to truly enjoy a book when I am not invested in the lead characters, and try as I might, Sandman, or Stark, as he is first introduced to us, is one of the most unlikeable lead characters I’ve ever read about. To be fair, he’s had lots of things happen to him to make him the way he is, which is to say, an arrogant, smart-assed, foul-mouthed punk, with seemingly no sense of concern for anyone other than himself. But that’s just the kind of guy I tend to feel sorry for, especially after learning his back story, which in this case involves eleven years in Hell, being beaten by demons, tortured by Hellions, and thrown into an arena to battle horrible creatures for his life, over and over again. And yet, I really felt very little compassion for him, because, folks… he ain’t nice.

And there is one thing that truly puzzled me.  Our anti-hero introduces himself as “Stark.” Just “Stark.” No first name. No middle initial. Then all of a sudden, well into the book, various beings from here and there are telling him he is Sandman Slim, with no explanation of where the nickname came from or what it means. It’s never addressed at all.  I have to wonder why?

I admit, like him or not,  I’m full of questions as to what will become of Stark a/k/a Sandman Slim, and whether or not he will ever find redemption.  (Perhaps making me wonder about this is the whole point of the story?) I’m thinking about reading at least one more book, which could indicate I’ve got some kind of sick, masochistic self-punishment thing going on here, my own self. Hmm…maybe I’ll take a break first, with some friendlier creatures of the night, or possibly even a regular work of fiction with normal human beings in it. Then I’ll decide whether or not to step back into this very dark, very creepy world.

If any of what I just said stirs yer grits, Sandman Slim might be right up your alley. If not, run far, run fast!

Sandman Slim: A Novel

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey

  1. This book is on my slowly growing completely unmanageable To-Read list. I’ll get to it one of these days…

    Like

  2. Your To BE Read list sounds like mine, except for the “slowly” part. Mine just keeps morphing into a bigger and meaner looking stack of books, every day. Sandman Slim is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, as you might have surmised by my review. But it has some serious fans out there, and I have to admit, it was compelling, in a strange way. I’m at least going to read the 2nd book before I decide whether it is compelling me like a slice of key lime pie calling from the refrigerator, or like a litter box that needs immediate attention. Both demand action, but that’s where the similarity ends.
    😀

    I will forgive a lot of things for good writing, though, and Kadrey has an interesting voice. If only I didn’t dislike that main character so much. Hopefully, he’ll grow on me in the 2nd book, and I can continue the series. If you do read Sandman Slim, I’d love to know what you think of it.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

