Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Peak of the Devil by Jen Rasmussen

peak
My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

I’ve followed Jen Rasmussen’s blog for some time, always enjoying her intelligent, witty posts, and her dry sense of humor, though I’ve never met her personally. When she wrote her first novel, Ghost in the Canteen, I couldn’t wait to read it. I was sure I would enjoy it, and I was right. If you haven’t checked it out, you should. It’s the first book in this series, and it’s a humdinger, with a premise completely new to me. (Clue: It involves a drink called switchel, which was a word I’d never heard before reading that book.)

Peak of the Devil is Book 2 of this series, and I have to say, it’s not as good as the first one…it’s better! Rasmussen’s already solid writing was even stronger this time around. The tough-talking, snarky star of the series, Lydia Trinket, is back, giving a whole new twist to the concept of ghostbusting. Things happen she wasn’t expecting. Bad, scary things. New characters show up to add interest to her life, as if it was ever boring, and old characters are busy building new lives of their own.

Mysteries to be solved, ghosts to lay, and deals with the devil to thwart, before even more people get hurt. Or dead. It’s all in a day’s work for Lydia, and with the help of her new…friend?…Phineas, things get very, very interesting. Being the die-hard romantic that I am, I have to say I’d like to see more of Phineas. A lot more. But Lydia may have other ideas, altogether, and I’m sure they’ll still be plenty entertaining. Only time and the next book, will tell.

And speaking of the next book, Peak of the Devil ends with a great set up for Book 3, and I, for one, can’t wait. I highly recommend both of these books!

Ghost in the Canteen

Peak of the Devil

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Peak of the Devil by Jen Rasmussen

  1. Reblogged this on The Write Stuff and commented:

    I’ve got a whole list of reviews I’m trying to work through, and Jen’s new book is the first. You really need to check out her Lydia Trinket series. It’s VERY good, and Peak of the Devil is super!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

