Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Happy Sun’s Day, Everybody!

kaelen1

What a busy week I have planned for here on Bookin’ It, and in general. My sequel to Swamp Ghosts, Hunter, is moving along. Working on Chapter 14 of the draft, and think it’s going the way I want it to, though it is going to be a very different type of book than Swamp Ghosts. After all, Riverbend may be a small town, but each and every inhabitant is unique and has his or her own story to tell. And they can’t ALL involve serial killers. Unlike the  Wake-Robin Ridge series which is based on one family and the mysteries that come a-callin’ all along the Ridge, the Riverbend books will only be loosely connected to each other via, location, a few familiar faces here and there, and hopefully, interesting stories with surprising plot lines. So. Writing like a thing possessed, here.

Also, have a list of books I’ve read and need to review. It’s not as long as the list of books that I am PLANNING to read, but it’s still more than I usually manage to review in a given week. Included are, Die Laughing by Louis K. Lowy; Infinity Bell by Devon Monk: Beyond the Pale, an anthology featuring Jim Butcher, Rachel Caine, and Gilian Philip, among others; and Indexing by Seanan McGuire. I have a couple more I’ll squeeze in, if possible, so stay tuned.

For now though, I’d better get back to Hunter. I’ve left my characters in a bad, bad way, and my Beta readers are rising up against me. Speaking of which, if anyone would like to read for me on this draft, please let me know. I could use another beta reader or two. Thanks!

As you were, Folks! Enjoy your day! Oh, and the picture of my grandson? It’s just there because I felt like sharing. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Sun’s Day, Everybody!

  1. Your grandson is darling!!! And glad you are coming along on Hunter. I still have Wake Robin Ridge on my list, but the sun is shining, the birds are singing, and Echter’s has heirloom seeds in —- I am planting seeds in flats like a crazy woman (I think I will have WAY too many plants, but that works too!) and I am still watching for the landscape garbage truck to come by and pull that top materials bag off so I can get to more lumber I know is in the bottom bag, along with those maple cabinet doors I want to take to Habitat for Humanity. I want a raised bed just for herbs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My garden is beginning to take off now, and I’ve been taking breaks all day out there, alternating between weeding and planting. I have herbs in a round, galvanized washtub, and purple hyacinth bean in another one, climbing up the “gazebo” on our patio. My pentas are in full bloom, the coral honeysuckle is running amok, and the red cannas are starting to pop up everywhere.

    I filled a little raised bed with Red Spread lantana, and two weeks ago, and it is almost covered with blooms now. My chaste tree has leafed out, the crape myrtles are following suit, and the petunia baskets are overflowing. This is the perfect time of year in central Florida. When your garden hits its peak in July, mine will be languishing under a 102 degree sun. 😦 But now…it’s filling in nicely. And I have a rose or two for my desk every day. Of course, I have them 12 months of the year. They bloom every 6 weeks or so, summer, fall, winter or spring. So obliging. When they aren’t suddenly croaking over night for no discernible reason! 😦

    Thanks for the comments on Kaelen. I think he’s pretty cute, myself. 😀

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

