Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Cursor’s Fury by Jim Butcher

cursor's fury

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Can’t imagine what took me so long to start on Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series. I guess I never figured I’d really enjoy epic fantasy, but I figured wrong. These books just keep getting better. Butcher’s writing gets stronger and stronger, just as it does during the Dresden Files series, and the characters become more engaging and interesting as the stories progress. 

Due to the scope of this tale, I’m not going to try to go into very much detail in this review, but I will say that Tavi is turning into a hero for the ages, and his journey is amazing. Amara and Bernard are a couple to reckon with, and there are villains both evil and complicated to stir up trouble in every book. Some very interesting clues have been laid out like a trail of breadcrumbs, and I find myself thinking ahead to what they all mean. I’ve been right at times, and surprised at others, and I’m eager to read the last three books and see the whole back story unraveled before me.

If you’ve never tried epic fantasy before, this could be a good place to start. If you are already a fan of the genre, but haven’t read the Codex Alera books, you should check them out. They are fast paced, full of adventure, and a lot of fun. And oh, yeah…there’s a bit of love thrown in for good measure. I highly recommend these books, and this third of the series is the best so far.

Cursor’s Fury

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Cursor’s Fury by Jim Butcher

  1. I love JB…. glad you are enjoying these…. one of these days, Leiah, one of these days…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, as everyone in my immediate vicinity surely knows by now, Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files is my favorite urban fantasy series, ever, and I think he’s absolutely brilliant. I don’t know what took me so long to check out the Codex Alera series, except for some ridiculous theory that I wouldn’t like fantasy as much as urban fantasy. And I might NOT, where other fantasies are concerned. But this one is just perfect! I love everything about it, pretty much. You should give it a go, as soon as you can. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Life is complex, intricate, beautiful. Write it that way.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

