Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

The Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

furies of caderon 2My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Well, I finally got desperate waiting for the next Dresden Files book to come out. (It’s still a long way off!) I’ve never been a big follower of anything that smacked of epic fantasy, but beggars can’t be choosers. So I downloaded Book 1 of Butcher’s Codex Alera series, Furies of Calderon. And guess what? I liked it. A lot, actually, especially considering that Butcher’s writing has improved greatly over the years. Still, the concept was good, the characters engaging, the monsters nice and scary, and the action fast and furious. All in all, I was so pleased, I immediately downloaded Book 2, Academ’s Fury, and started right in on that. And now, I’m reading Book 3, Cursor’s Fury.

I didn’t mean to get quite so involved in this tale, but it pulled me right in. It seems there are six  books in the series, which I’m guessing is wrapped up, as Book 6 was written in 2010, and I don’t see anything else. At the rate I’m devouring them, I expect to finish the series in another week or ten days. My apologies to any and all who are in my To Be Read basket. I haven’t abandoned you. I’ve just gotten very distracted by a young boy named Tavi, who has no “fury” (magical power over wind, earth, water, or air) in a world filled with people who do. There are too many characters to mention in this review, and relationships are complicated and surprising. But you’ll have to take my word for it.

If you love epic fantasy, worlds very different from ours, people who are not very different at all, combined with beings of every shape and size who are, and epic battles where the fate of entire kingdoms (and maybe even the world) hangs in the balance, I recommend giving this series a try. The writing is not as polished as The Dresden Files, at least not in the first two books, but the imagination of this author is just wonderful. Check it out! And be sure to let me know what you think of the Marat, the canim, and (shudder) the vord.

Furies of Calderon: Codex Alera Book 1

Academ’s Fury: Codex Alera Book 2

academsfury2
My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “The Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

  1. So much like me…. I have all good intentions of catching up on my R4R – then get waylaid by a book and wind up engrossed in the ongoing tale. I apparently no longer have any personal discipline at All.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really never did have any, Leiah! Ha! I have read a few more in the TBR stack, but now I’m waylaid for a while, I guess. I’m hooked on this, for sure. And it takes me longer these days, since I don’t have 2 to 3 hours to read each evening any more. (I’m writing. 🙂 Or self-marketing. 😦 )

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lots of work!!! We should be HAPPY about what we are reading – not feel like we “have” to read something. I have completely wasted so much of my life, being able to spend these last few years of my life doing things I love is more important to me than doing ‘gotta’ things. Limited time, and so much wasted time… I intend to enjoy what I have left!

        Liked by 1 person

        • I am definitely getting better about prioritizing, though I don’t like forgetting about my friends and what they are writing. So it’s a balancing act between series and authors I’ve followed a long time, and new writing friends I want to read and share with the world. I do my best with the reading time that I have available to me, but I wish I could turn 24 hours a day into 36 or more. Just not enough time to do all I want to do. And 9/10 of the time I do have is spent writing now, so that makes my reading time even briefer each day.

          But…I’m here, I’m writing, I’m reading when I can, and I’m enjoying it all, so I’m not going to complain. My life is full and when I can avoid flu bugs, going pretty well. I can’t ask for more. (Well, I COULD ask for more…but I won’t! 😀 )

          Liked by 1 person

  2. You read three books a week, Marcia? One book takes me at least a week, as I only read in the early morning. Reading three a week I could devour half my TBR pile! Another super power of yours. *wink*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Sue! Before I started writing, I read 3 to 4 books a week, reading at night from 11:00pm until 1:00am or so. Now that I’m writing, I very seldom get that much time. So, on average now, I’m lucky to finish one in a week. This past week was a rare event, mostly brought on by the fact that once I started the first book, I HAD to keep going. 🙂

      I would love to get back to 3 a week, though. I’m working on better time management so that might happen again. BTW, I write in the mornings, as soon as I fix that first cup of tea, I’m at the computer. Sometimes still there at dinner time. So I never get to read during the day, any more, except for fifteen minutes or so during lunch break. All my reading is done late at night. Could be why I have some really wild dreams lately.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A fellow tea drinker. I knew I liked you, Marcia!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yep! Earl Grey, hot. The Earl and I are on intimate terms!

          I was planning to do a fun post on TWS tomorrow about my latest custom blended teas, named for characters in my books. The little sample tins were pretty popular at my last book signing, and I have a bunch ready to take along to an event Saturday. I have 4 now, and a couple more coming soon. Since several of my characters are confirmed tea drinkers, it’s been fun creating them. I have Sarah’s Favorite Earl Grey (classic Earl Grey softened with lavender and cream), Willow’s Raspberry Cooler (a black raspberry tea with a hint of spearmint), Maggie’s Tropical Green (green tea with citrus and mango), and Christmas on
          Wake-Robin Ridge (a softly spiced tea with extra cinnamon).

          Come on down and I’ll fix you a cup. Your choice! 😀

          Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

