Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

summer-reading4

As I get my life back under my own control again, it’s time to continue our regularly scheduled features. Friday, as always, is What Are You Reading day. Me, I’m more than halfway through Jim Butcher’s Furies of Calderon epic fantasy novel. So far, I am finding it absorbing and filled with characters I am becoming invested in, though I can’t say it pulls me in like Butcher’s Dresden Files series does. But then, that’s my favorite urban fantasy series of all time, so not much does.

I just finished reading False Awakenings by Callum McLaughlin, and will be reviewing that soon, and I’m starting on Pack Princess, by Aimee Easterling. Will be reviewing that one soon, too, if I’m allowed a bit more reading time next week than I’ve been getting lately. So stay tuned for new reviews and updates on various other bookish things.

Now it’s your turn. What are you reading? As always, inquiring minds wanna know! Let us hear from you…

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. I am reading The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore, The Keystone Kid: Tales of Early Hollywood by Coy Watson, Jr., and Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Maedez! I’m always impressed by the wide variety of genres and authors you read. I read Moll Flanders many, many decades ago and remember enjoying it very much. The other two are new to me, and I’m writing them down, as always. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us hear from you. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love Daniel Defoe’s books, and Moll Flanders is no exception.

        The Secret History of Wonder Woman is fabulous. Fabulous.

        The Coy Watkins, Jr. book is a totally unique, first-hand account of movie-making in Hollywood 100 years ago!

        I’ve always just read what I wanted to, even when I was really young. My mom always encouraged me to do so!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really excited to hear what you thought of False Awakening!

    I’ve just started The October List by Jeffrey Deaver, which is a thriller told in reverse (certainly an interesting concept).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I enjoyed it very much, Callum, and with any luck, will be getting a review up in a day or so, with more details. 🙂 I’ve read a lot of Jeffrey Deaver over the years, and always enjoyed his books. Do you read Lee Child? Just curious. (Not comparing them.) Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great to hear. Thank you, Marcia! 🙂

        You know, I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t actually read any Lee Child yet. I should probably fix that.

        Liked by 1 person

        • What? You mean you haven’t read every single good book by every single good author out there? SLACKER! 😀 Seriously, as you no doubt know by now, I dearly love Jack Reacher, and I could read these books forever. But even if I didn’t want to follow the entire series, I would still recommend reading a couple of them. Reacher is a force of nature, with a folding toothbrush. 😀 Start at the beginning, though, if you decide to check them out. They do build on each other, even though a few are books that flashback to an earlier time. Still, they also connect with where Reacher is “today.”

          If you try one, let me know. Child has a wonderful way of building a plot, with tiny hints and clues that Reacher picks up on, and you have to try to see what HE’S seeing, as he pieces the puzzle together. You never will, of course…but that’s the beauty of it.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m reading The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, which is based on a vlog I thought was adorable. Any Pride & Prejudice fans should check out either or both.

    Like

  4. A World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914-1918 by G.J. Meyer

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Scorch Trials – second in the Maze runner Trilogy – I loved Maze Runner…so can’t wait to find out what is in store for the Gladers this time around!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

J.R. RASMUSSEN

fantasy author

Snake Buddies

Educate. Inspire. Conserve.

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

From the Pen of Mae Clair

Suspense/mystery author supporting other authors, and sharing folklore

