Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Bookshelf Tag!

Bo2MJnuIQAARE27

I’ve been invited to take part in two different “events” this week, and am starting with this one. (Look for the Blog Hop tomorrow.) Author Stella Tarakson has tagged me, so I’m invited to take part in Bookshelf Tag. Thanks for thinking of me, Stella. I always enjoy these things, for some reason. Here are the rules for Bookshelf Tag:

“Answer the following questions about books on your bookshelf and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.”

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

Several, actually. The one that comes to mind right away is Water For Elephants. I have a feeling this one has to be saved for a time when I’m feeling invulnerable. Or maybe even invincible. But not right now.

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

Another that’s hard to answer with only one book. I’ve been reading a LONG time, folks, and been introduced to a lot of different genres over the years. But since my current favorite genre is Urban Fantasy, I’ll go with Charlaine Harris’s first Sookie Stackhouse book, Dead Until Dark. It wasn’t my first vampire book, by any means. I’d been reading every one I could get my hands on since discovering Bram Stoker’s Dracula at age twelve. But it was the first book I read that would fall under the umbrella of Urban Fantasy. I loved the whole series…until I didn’t. (And plenty of you will know what I mean by that.) So, a new passion was born, and I haven’t quit reading UF since.

NOTE: As has been pointed out to me, I managed to omit Question #3. It was not because I had no answer, but yet another Cut & Paste error. Cut & Paste errors are minions of Satan, and the bane of my life! GAH. Okay. Without further ado, here’s the missing question, and answer.

3. Find a book that you want to reread.

Yet another question I can’t narrow down to one answer. I want to re-read every book I have ever loved, so I have another chance to savor the various worlds and the wonderful words of each writer. But for the sake of brevity, and your sanity, I’ll go with the one I thought of immediately: The Dresden Files. Yes, I know that’s a series and not a book, but I want to read every single one of the 17 (so far) again, and watch Jim Butcher’s world-building get better and better. Not to mention watching Harry Dresden get badder and badder. It’s my favorite Urban Fantasy series of all time, and I want to read it again, from start to finish. But not today. 🙂 I’m behind on too many new books to go back to an old one right now. It’s going to happen, though. I swear it on a stack of Harry’s old business cards.

4. Is there a book series you’ve read but wish that you hadn’t?

Yes, and to this day, I don’t know why it took me so long to bail. Since I quit doing negative reviews some time ago, I won’t mention the title of the one I’m thinking of. I’ll just say that it is a very popular Urban Fantasy series, and the book covers have been featuring implements of pain and torture for some time now. Thankfully, I quit reading the minute that facet of the stories appeared, and I can honestly say I’ve not read another page in the series, though it seems to go on and on and on, even without me. 🙂 I never argue with success, so more power to the author, and if that’s what stirs your grits, have at it, folks. But pain and suffering just doesn’t work for me.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

Well, I doubt I’d actually run back INTO a burning house for any THING, but playing along, here. I’d want to grab my small collection of autographed books, in particular, my ancient and crumbling copy of Rebecca, signed by the Queen, herself, Daphne du Maurier. (No, I didn’t obtain the autograph personally, sadly. It was given to me years ago, and has no commercial value at all, but I love it.) Everything else, I can replace, one way or the other, and most I own on Kindle, as well as the print versions. So I’d be good.

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

All of my books bring back fond memories. I can’t think of one specific one that does so more than others, I’m afraid. Sorry.

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.

Well, there’s inspiration, and then there’s Inspiration.  I’ve read books that inspired me to be a kinder person, to accept that others view life differently than I do, to aim for the kind of love that encompasses your whole world, to believe in magic…it’s a long list. But I’m going to go with a book that was actually intended to inspire readers to find comfort and joy in their daily lives: Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach. Yes, it’s a bit New Agey, but that doesn’t make each daily offering any less true. I found that when I started on January 1 and walked through the year, one  daily “homily” at a time (for lack of a better word), I started each day from a peaceful place, and was inspired to view my life from a positive perspective. It made a difference in everything I did.

8. Do you have any autographed books?

A few, though nothing of great monetary value. As mentioned above, I have Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. I also have autographed books by Kim Harrison, Jeaniene Frost, Ilona Andrews, and Larry Correia. I would love to have more, and wish there were more book signings in the Orlando area. Come on, you wonderful authors…visit the Sunshine State!

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest.

Pretty sure that would also be my copy of Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. I’ve had that for over 58 years.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

Usually it’s the other way around for me. I don’t normally read anything I don’t think I’m going to enjoy. Time is too precious for that. But sometimes, I read a book I had every expectation of enjoying, and end up being disappointed in it. One exception comes to mind. I was talked into reading a book by Marisa de Los Santos called Love Walked In. It looked like it was going to be a rather hokey romance, to me, and I remember wishing I didn’t feel obligated to read it. I fell totally in love with the book, read the sequel, and her next novel, too. Marisa de Los Santos is one of my favorite authors, now. No, it’s not Urban Fantasy. (See,  I told you I read more than that. ) She writes beautiful, lyrical romance novels that pull you into the lives or ordinary people, and make you love them as though they were real. And more than that, as a poet-turned-novelist, she does it with the most beautiful turns of phrase you can imagine. I adore her work, and I’m so glad I read that first book.

Okay, time for the “Tag! You’re It!” portion of this. Here are five folks I’d love to hear from, and  I hope they’ll enjoy participating in this game of Bookshelf Tag. (But a note to all five of you: I do not want anyone to feel obligated. This is not compulsory. I’m inviting you to play because I think you are interesting folks, and I’d like to hear your answers. I will not be upset if you don’t have the time or inclination to take part, but I hope at least some of you will enjoy participating.)

A Writer’s Life For Me

Spellbound Consortium

Desert Cities Mystery

Jen Rasmussen

Frankie’s Soapbox

 And that’s it, folks! As you were. And thank you again, Stella, for inviting me. This was fun! As was reading your responses on your own blog.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tag!

  1. Pingback: Bookshelf tag – I’m it! | Jen Rasmussen

  2. These are some difficult questions! Like the genre one–I couldn’t say what the first book in any genre I read was.

    And if I were ever so silly to go into a burning house for a thing, I wouldn’t pick a book, no matter how much I adore them, but something like an old photo album.

    Like

    • You are always and ever the voice of reason, Caitlin. Thank God! I agree with you, I wouldn’t really run back into a burning house for a thing, either. I’d be hard pressed to run back in for a living creature. Fire, bad. (I learned that from Young Dr. Frankenstein). 😀

      Like

  3. Loved reading this, Marcia! Thanks for taking part. Oh, and I wouldn’t run into a burning house either 🙂

    Like

  4. Great questions, and honestly I am still thinking about some of them!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of killer thrillers.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

