Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Last Few Hours!

Check It Out!

BigBlue3sm

Last chance to download your free copy of Swamp Ghosts for quite some time. Grab it while you still can! Meet Maggie Devlin, Gunnar Wolfe, and Big Blue, an incredibly beautiful and rare force of nature…a white alligator! And Blue’s not the only dangerous thing in the swamps, either! Lester Purvis can attest to that. Swamp Ghosts…it’s not just the cover that’s scary!

leucistic

Run, don’t walk, to the link below and get your copy tonight!

Swamp Ghosts

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Last Few Hours!

  1. Eeek, I don’t know if I could. These pictures alone scare me!!!

    Like

    • If it’s any encouragement, it’s still primarily a love story. Yes, there’s a serial killer, and yes, there are some reptiles mentioned here and there, but not in the way you might expect. I like to think that unless you are truly phobic about snakes or gators (in the sense of not even being able to mention them out loud without nausea and chills), you should be able to read the story with no problem. Also, I never, ever have you “go through” any violent aspects of my stories along with the victims. Bad things do happen to people, but for the most part, it’s implied or talked about third person-ish, after the event. Scary & creepy, yes, but I do not like stories where readers have to experience the bad stuff. Too much. (No one has written me yet to complain about graphic violence, honest…and in the reviews, very few of them even mention the reptiles at all, though they are most definitely in evidence.)

      Take a chance! You’ll shiver, but you won’t have nightmares. Probably. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Ha ha BFF… I wasn’t really that scared, I have a feeling the story itself is very engaging. I couldn’t imagine you’d write anything horrific, over and above a good yarn.

        I have a feeling I will get to this one too, one of these days πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Hope so, my lovely BFF, and hope you enjoy it. I only have one rule where my own writing is concerned. No, wait. I only have two rules where my writing is concerned. Okay, I have THREE rules where my writing is concerned. Three main ones, anyway.

          First, I don’t like truly sad and depressing endings, so I don’t write them. My characters may have to walk through fire, but MOST of them are going to come out the other end the better for it. I want to tell stories that foster a belief in the possibility of good winning over evil, otherwise, why bother? If the bad guys are always gonna win, I’m not gonna read it, much less write about it.

          Secondly, I don’t do graphic sex scenes. I am too often bored by the repetitious nature of them, as there are only so many words for the various body parts involved, and so many places where everything can go. Realistically. πŸ™‚ I’m not offended by them, but I don’t think they are nearly as interesting as emotional passion, so I aim for that. This could change, I guess, but for now, I’ll write books without using words that you’d see on gas station bathroom walls. (Eewww.)

          And third, I don’t write graphic violence as a thing the reader has to participate in. The violence will be presented in a way that doesn’t make you experience it along with the victim. It will be told after the fact, or the victim will already be deceased, or the violence will be implied. I don’t enjoy suffering along with a torture victim, so I’m not going to ask my readers to do so. They’ll know what happened, because after all, I want them to feel sorry for the hapless soul, and to really want the Bad Guy dealt with. But that’s all I’m prepared to do at this time.

          So far, it seems to be working well, though I’m sure there are readers who will want more detail, especially regarding Rule #2. And that’s fine. Not every story works for every person, no matter who the author is.

          So with these caveats in mind, I hope you’ll check out my books some day, and if you do, I hope you’ll enjoy them for what they are…just simple stories for pure entertainment, with no real redeeming social value implied or delivered. Other than that Love is the most important and powerful force in the universe. That one, I’ll be touting for as long as I write, I’m sure.
          πŸ™‚

          Like

          • If I enjoy your full books as much as I adore your comments, I will die a very happy reader.

            I have never doubted that you write as you’ve outlined here, Marcia. You’ve never given any reason for anyone to think otherwise. On that, I can speak for certain. Hugs!

            Like

            • You are too sweet! There’s a reason you’re my BFF, after all! πŸ™‚ Hope you’ve found a poem or two in Summer Magic that speaks to you. If you’ve had time to read, that is. I know you are a busy lady. And I swear, the one thing I DON’T like about writing is that I’m not getting nearly as much reading done myself, as I’d like. 😦 But the rewards are great enough that I’m working on balancing things better. Maybe if I quit doing laundry and grocery shopping????

              πŸ˜€ Have a great Monday, Robyn!!

              Like

  2. I missed the giveaway, but was happy to pay five bucks. πŸ™‚ Great cover btw.

    Almost finished with Wake-Robin Ridge, will be posting a review this week or early next!

    Like

    • Aw, I’m sorry you missed the giveaway, but thank you so much for buying the book. I sure hope you enjoy it, and I hope you’ve enjoyed WRR, too. It’s been fun watching it move up in the ranks lately, and has inspired me to keep on writing, and learning more and more about the craft. Got a lot to cram into the next five years or so. (Like a whole lifetime’s worth of learning, honing, and writing.) Thanks again, Jen!

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite themβ€”they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of killer thrillers.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

We Are Not Alone

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

