Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Question for You Writers Out There?

NaNo3Screens

Just started working in Scrivener. Big learning curve, but I love it already. Also taking a course in tips and tricks, etc. Anyone using this program for writing novels? Would love to hear what you think of it. Have you mastered it? Do you love it?

I’m crazy about the concept of keeping all my research, photos, maps, URLs, etc, in the same location as my draft…in one program for easy access. I’m always trying to find the folder where I’ve stored something I need for the next chapter. I also love that you can easily import an entire book into the program, and you can convert your finished manuscript instantly into so many formats for publication.

Am looking forward to the whole program becoming second nature to me. I’m a geek at heart, so I hope to be comfortable with this in a matter of a few days. Fingers crossed. What do you think?

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Question for You Writers Out There?

  1. selysin on said:

    I love Scrivener, it’s so much easier to keep everything together and navigate than word and when I’m procrastinating I can muck around with the meta-data and not venture into the time sink that is the internet.

    Like

    • Thanks for the input, Selysin. I have a feeling this program is going to help me make much better use of my time, plus I confess, I love the corkboard! 🙂 And the ability to color code files and notes, etc. So far, I’m liking what I’ve seen. It appeals to the nerd in me, as well as the writer. 😉

      Like

  2. I’m so glad that you posted this! I’ve been wanting to ‘treat’ myself to Scrivener for a while, but have been so busy working that I don’t even have time to try the trial version. Keep me posted…and have fun writing!

    Like

    • If you want to give it a try, you can get a 20% off deal through the webinar listed by the Scrivener Coach this week. I was able to get it for $32, that way, and I decided to go ahead and download his course, too. So far, I’m pretty impressed. I had tried it a year ago, and got confused, but his videos and screen shots make it much easier. It is really a powerful program, and will do so much more than just handle a document. Email me if you’d like links. These offers are good until tomorrow evening, and I’m glad I bit the bullet and did it. Hope we hear from a few folks who are using it regularly.

      I need to find a way to write more efficiently, and keep things organized, so my time is spent doing the creative part, and not searching everywhere. It’s a fun layout, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Scrivener is like pie and donuts mixed together, it’s so good. I love it for the usual things, ease of outlining, organization, and so forth, but I also like it for giving me some extra structure in my scheduling. I break down my workplans into x number of cards in my outline per day/week. It’s more accurate for planning than word counts, because I can be sure of what percentage of the manuscript I’m going to accomplish. (Sometimes it means staying up until 4 AM because a card took more words than I thought it would, but that’s the way the pie-donut crumbles.)

    That said, I still keep my series database in Excel. So I clearly haven’t mastered it yet. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Jen! That’s exactly the kind of response I was hoping to get, whether positive or negative, but with experience to back it up. I love the pie & donuts analogy. Two of my faves! Now I’ll think of them whenever I open the program.

      I like knowing how you are using it, too. I have so much to learn, but it’s been fun so far. However, I’m keeping my MS Word doc file updated, too…just in case. 🙂 I did find I couldn’t copy and paste a chapter directly into my private blog, without losing my normal format. Had to do it from the Word file, instead. But that may be because I didn’t want to format a chapter separately, and just the Copy & Paste function didn’t work well. I guess it was in rich text and wordpress didn’t like it. Not sure.

      I LOVE that I can not only keep photos and reference materials handy, but web pages, as well, so I can instantly get the material I need while working on the manuscript. It’s so fantastic for someone like me, who wants everything in one spot. I was tired of losing files stored in various folders here and there. ONE PLACE. How awesome is that?!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, and I’ll be considering your work plan technique. Have a great day!

      Like

  4. There is a public community with over 3100 members for Scrivener Users. Because it is public, you do not need a G+ account to read the posts which the members post to the community.
    https://plus.google.com/communities/109597039874015233580

    Like

    • Thanks for the link, James. I’ll look forward to reading some of the posts there. Just looking for comments pro and con from some of my followers, though it appears that not too many of them have tried the program. I’m enjoying it, so far, and will see what I can learn from the Scrivener User’s community, too.

      Like

      • Just took a quick glance around, James, and I can see a wealth of info there, which I’m sure I’ll be able to use. Thank you again for providing the link. Have a great weekend!

        Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

J.R. RASMUSSEN

fantasy author

Snake Buddies

Educate. Inspire. Conserve.

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

From the Pen of Mae Clair

Suspense/mystery author supporting other authors, and sharing folklore

