Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Tewe’s Day Beauty! (And a 3rd picture added)

67acb5974a7100028d89380dc4be08ea

Nothing much exciting happening here on Tuesdays when I don’t have a review ready, so I figured it’s a good day to share some beauty with you guys. Here’s one of my favorite Florida birds, the purple gallinule. Just look at those colors! And the size of those feet! (The better for walking across lily pads without sinking…kind of like snowshoes for water birds.)

When I first started birdwatching, many years ago, purple gallinules were not very common in central Florida. You had to drive a good bit farther south to find them. Now, I see them pretty often on the St. John’s River, and other waterways, ponds, and lakes. I wouldn’t call them common, but I don’t think of them as scarce, either. But no matter how often I see them, I’m always thrilled by their peacock coloration, and the way they cluck along on top of the vegetation, picking around for things to nibble on.

129f01bf4ce311ba8c113c15b7dc2ba1

One more picture, just for Caitlin! Just look at these feet, now! You’d think it couldn’t possibly hold on to that skinny stem!

36c79ddd3d2906ab65ce5c1c81bd2975

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Tewe’s Day Beauty! (And a 3rd picture added)

  1. burke59 on said:

    What a beauty–stunning…

    Like

    • They really are, Celeste. And as a gallinaceous bird, they are very hen-like in the way they peck and croon and cluck. They are quite endearing along with the breathtaking color display. And when the sunlight strikes them, they take your breath away!

      Like

  2. Beautiful! I know you say those feet are for water-lily walking, but they look a little dangerous wrapped around that branch!

    Like

    • Ha, that one’s nothing. I have another picture that would really astonish you. I wish I could put it in this comment, but no go. I’ll have to email it to you, I reckon. Or maybe I’ll post it separately, just because it’s kind of amazing. OH, I know. I can add it in this same post. DUH! Check back in a few. 🙂

      Like

  3. Hey, Marcia! Got your email, am in the middle of a deadline push for an edit, but will be responding soon. You should be SOOOO PROUD of yourself!

    Hugs,
    Leiah

    Like

    • Looking forward to chatting with you then, Leiah. And thanks. Sometimes I can’t believe everything that’s going on in my life right now. The only down side is less time for reading. 😦 But I’m trying to manage my hours better, so maybe I’ll get a handle on that, too. Edit like the WIND!! 😀 We’ll chat when you’ve more time.

      Liked by 1 person

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

