Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Wednesday’s Author Interview – Mishka Jenkins

stolenbloodline

Stolen Bloodline by Mishka Jenkins

One of the best things about doing author interviews, is that I get a chance to introduce my followers to newly published writers, as well as those who have been plying their craft for a while. Today, I’d like to welcome Mishka Jenkins to Bookin’ It. Mishka is a new writer, the author of three books, released at one time, and who is working on a fourth. Quite an accomplishment for anyone, and especially for someone just getting their career underway. I’m so happy to have her with us. 

BI: Mishka, Tell us a bit about how you became a writer. When did you decide that’s what you wanted to be, and what steps did you take to prepare for a writing career? 

Mishka: Creating stories is something I’ve always enjoyed doing, though when I was younger, I tried to do it more through art and comics. I started writing before I was in my teens, and just haven’t stopped! Last year I decided I wanted to pursue writing as a serious career after discovering that self-publishing is now a viable option open to writers, and in December I started writing and it took off from there. Now I am fully focused on making a career in writing work for me. 

BI: I can certainly understand that drive, and wish self-publishing had been a viable option when I was younger, too. I’m glad you have found what you want to do, Mishka. Were you inspired by any particular authors, past or present, and what is it about their work that impresses you, or moves you? 

Mishka: I love Matthew Reilly’s books. There is something about the way he writes that keeps me reading (even past the early hours of the morning!) just so as I can find out what is next. Clive Cussler is another one I enjoy. 

BI: Two very interesting choices. What genres do you read most often for pleasure…those books you gravitate toward the minute you walk into a bookstore? 

Mishka: I read a variety of genres and authors, which I hope means I don’t get to stuck on one thing in my own writing, though I do find myself drawn to adventure and thrillers. You know, those books that have people chasing around after old relics to save the world? I really love those. 

BI: Everyone loves a good adventure, that’s for sure. Do you have a dedicated workspace, and are you consistent with the amount of time you spend writing each day? 

Mishka: My workspace is usually in my living room on the sofa next to my dog! I try to write for at least 2 hours every day. Just put my head down and go for it. 

BI: It’s a good idea to set habits like that, I think. Soon, your mind is trained to go into writing mode the minute you start. Do you use visual aids, like Inspiration Boards/Photos or maps of your book’s setting? What reference books or other material do you consult most frequently as you write? 

Mishka: I live by visual aids. I never used them before my last book, but now I can’t get enough! I have Pinterest boards, and also I print out sheets with photos or references that spark my imagination for my book. I also sketch a lot of character outfits and settings in my notebook, which is constantly at my side as I write. 

BI: I never tried sketching anything but a rough map or two, to help me visualize placement. What a good idea. And speaking of ideas, when you have one for a new book, do you sit down and start typing, or do you start with an outline, and figure out all the major plot points first? In other words, is your working style structured and organized, or more organic and free flowing? 

Mishka: Definitely structured and organized. I love lists! I plan very methodically, so that when I come to actually write, I know exactly what is going to happen. I have a free flow as I go. The plan helps with this and keeps me motivated, as I can see all the exciting parts coming up. 

BI: Ah, so a plotter, for sure. It makes sense. I’m just not good at doing it that way, myself. Now back to reading. Do you prefer eBooks, or print? Why? 

Mishka: I am a big eBook reader. I like the convenience of them, and the fact that they are all stored on the device, rather than taking up my very limited and precious space on my shelves. 

BI:  eBooks are so practical, aren’t they? All that entertainment in one little package. Tell us about the books have you published, and where we can buy them. 

Mishka: I have recently published three books in one go, all romance but of very different subgenres. You can buy them at Amazon, Createspace, Smashwords and major eRetailers. 

Stolen Bloodline– A paranormal romance about a young woman who is kidnapped from her home and ends up being the pawn in a war between vampires and a race of humans called, ‘Guardians’.

Heart of the Arena– A historical romance. This one focuses on Sabina, who is thrust into the world of gladiators. And, disguised as a man, must find her way around her new life when events keep threatening to expose her.

The Queen’s Jester– A medieval-based, fantasy romance. Marie has just married King Warrick, a man she has loved for some time. Yet his reluctance to enter into romance leaves her lonely, so when a new man in the form of the court’s jester enters her life, things take an unexpected and eerie turn.

BI: Wow! A triple header, all in one go. I’m impressed! Are you currently working on a new book? When do you expect it to be available? 

Mishka: I am indeed working on a new book! It’s nice to get back to writing again. It should be available at the end of July, if everything goes smoothly (though we know how often that happens!). 

BI: Well, I hope it does go smoothly for you, and we will soon be able to get your newest book, as well. Mishka, what is the best thing about being a writer, in your opinion? The worst? 

Mishka: The best thing is definitely the creativity. My mind is so full of stories and characters, that being able to fill my day with them is incredible and so freeing. The worst is probably the uncertainty and how difficult it is to become successful, especially when just starting out. But, I’m hoping determination and hard work will pay off in the end! 

BI: I hope that it does, as well. But I have faith in your determination, and think it will carry you through the discouraging times, and in the end, you’ll find the success you dream of. Good luck! And thank you so much for being part of my Wednesday Author Interview series. It’s been great talking to you today.

mjphoto

 

Mishka Jenkins lives in the UK with her family and fluffy muse, a rough collie called Harliquin, who she couldn’t write without. Mishka has a penchant for writing love stories in a variety of exciting genres, and plans to keep writing them for as long as she can type.

stolenbloodline thequeensjester heartofthearena

Check out her books on amazon.com:

Stolen Bloodline

Heart of the Arena

The Queen’s Jester

You can also buy Mishka’s books on Smashwords, here:

Queen’s Jester: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/442154

Stolen Bloodline: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/442160

Heart of the Arena: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/442163

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Author Interview – Mishka Jenkins

  1. Brilliant interview. I’ve already read one of Mishka’s books and look forward to exploring more of her stories.

    Like

    • So glad you enjoyed the interview, Callum. And lucky you…I have Mishka’s books on my TBR pile, but haven’t reached them yet. I’m glad you enjoyed her book. I’m looking forward to delving into all of them, myself. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Have a great day!! 🙂 By the way, as another young writer, when are you going to let me interview you? I’d love to feature you on one of my Wednesday Author Interviews! 🙂

      Like

  2. Thank you for interviewing me, it was great fun! 😀 Love the questions.

    Can’t wait to read your interview with the next author!

    Like

    • Hi, Mishka! The pleasure was all mine. Finding out about how you work, and learning a bit about your books was great fun. You have a long career of writing ahead of you, and I’m going to look forward to watching it unfold. I wish you much success! 🙂

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of killer thrillers.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

