Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

Better late than never, I guess. Somehow in all the excitement yesterday of doing the Blog Tour and seeing Swamp Ghosts come out in print, I managed to forget my Friday What Are You Reading post. So, here it is, for those who enjoy it.

I just finished (last night) a very dark, unusual, and compelling book called Summoned by Rainy Kaye. I’ll be reviewing it soon. Suffice it to say, it was unlike any story I’ve ever read, and I have very mixed feelings about it. Most are good, though.

Now it’s your turn. What are you reading? As always, inquiring minds wanna know!

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. Felix on said:

    I’ll be looking for your review of “Summoned “. Sound interesting both by the tittle and your comment about it.
    I’m reading “Odd Hours”, by Dean Koontz. I love it. I just wish this sinus headache would go away along with the watery eyes. I can’t read in those conditions. I just want to take Benadryl and sleep. πŸ™‚ I’m also reading “Rabbit” by Marcia Meara.

    Like

    • I’m in such good company. Imagine…reading my draft of Rabbit’s story at the same time you are reading Dean Koontz. Wow. It makes me feel like he and I are compadres of some sort. πŸ™‚ Good to see you here today, Felix, and I’m so glad you are reading more of Oddie’s story. By the time the final book comes out you’ll be ready for it. BTW, it is due to be released in December, and the title is Saint Odd. That gives me a clue to exactly what I’ve been expecting for Pico Mundo’s favorite fry cook. He’s a character I will never, ever forget. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Sounds interesting. I like books with a dark feel to them; hence what I’m reading now actually. I just finished The Soul by S.R. Carrillo, an indie author, and I’m working on Perfect People by Peter James at the moment. Both very intriguing.

    Like

    • Hi, Callum! Nice to see you here today. Both of those sound interesting, and I’m taking notes, as usual. Summed is very, very dark and somewhat disturbing, but written in a way that simply grabbed me around the throat and wouldn’t let go. Stay tuned for the review. And thanks for letting us hear from you! πŸ™‚ Don’t be a stranger.

      Like

  3. I’m reading Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong–a fantasy story about twin sisters Seekers and Keepers charged with laying to rest the souls of the dead. And Unfettered, collected by Shawn Speakman, which is a pretty random collection, but has some names I love in it. And is a 574 page hardback, so it’s not travelling with me. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Hi, Caitlin. You know, I had read quite a few Kelley Armstrong books (Women of the Otherworld) and I enjoyed them. I’m not sure how I got distracted. I guess I was waiting for a new one, and then forgot. 😦 I’ve read at least one anthology of hers I liked, too. I’m going to check this out. Not familiar with Speakman, but I’ll make a note. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know what you are reading. I think I’m going to start on one of Larry Correia’s books tonight. I’ve been reading 2 different series by him, and this is the latest in the Grimnoir Chronicles. I put it to one side with Skin Game came out, because…HARRY DRESDEN!…so I think I’ll get going on it again. I’d only read one chapter, so it was easy to put down for a bit, but I do like his books. This is a big one, too. Doorstop size. πŸ™‚

      Have a great Sunday, Caitlin.

      Like

      • Sometimes a series falls by the wayside–there are always more books!

        The Speakman anthology is one of those terrible and amazing things–Speakman was diagnosed with cancer, and couldn’t pay his bills–so several writers donated short stories for an anthology to help out.

        Like

        • OH, that’s wonderful and sad at the same time. Who are some of the contributors? Anyone I’d likely know? I think I’m going to start running a “My Favorite Anthologies” series soon. I love them so much, and so many people miss out on them, or don’t realize how much fun they can be.

          Like

          • I found it through Patrick Rothfuss. There’s also: Terry Brooks, Brandon Sanderson, Jacqueline Carey, Tad Williams, R.A. Salvatore, Naomi Novik, Geno Salvatore, Peter V. Brett, Daniel Abraham, Lev Grossman, David Anthony Durham, Peter Orullian, Blake Charlton, Michael J. Sullivan, Eldon Thompson, Robert V.S. Redick, Carrie Vaughn, Kevin Hearne, Jennifer Bosworth, Todd Lockwood, and Mark Lawrence.

            The anthologies review is a good idea–some of them are great, and some are terrible. It’s always helpful to be able to tell which is which!

            Like

            • Thanks, Caitlin. A lot of those are new names to me, but I’m familiar with Carrie Vaughn, Kevin Hearne, and a couple others. I especially like Brandon Sanderson. Definitely going to get this one.

              Yeah, I think it would be fun to steer readers to anthologies. Sometimes you only have enough minutes in the day for a short story. And–my main reason for reading them–they are a wonderful way to discover new writers you want to explore in more depth. By golly, I’m gonna DO it! πŸ™‚

              Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite themβ€”they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

