Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Skin Game by Jim Butcher

skingame

My Rating TEN out of 5 Stars!
Yes, it’s THAT good!

After waiting about a year and a half for Skin Game (Note to Jim Butcher: WRITE FASTER!), I had my doubts as to whether it could really live up to my hopes and expectations. I needn’t have worried. The book is flat out fantastic! I finished at midnight last night, and couldn’t sleep for two more hours, I was so worked up. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again (probably many, many times)–Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files is simply the best Urban Fantasy series out there, hands down. (And I read several very good ones, believe me.) It has everything you want in a series, including, but not limited to, bigger and better plot lines, an ever-growing cast of characters, and a hero who continues to gain more and more power, and grow as a person, as well.

I will say that at first, Skin Game seemed a bit hectic to me. Perhaps that’s because it had been so long since I read the last one, and I was trying to get re-acclimated to who all the players are, and how the world works. But once it settled down (or I did, perhaps), the book pulled me in so tightly, there was absolutely no putting it down. Not that I wanted to at that point. Jim Butcher can create chaos and wreak havoc on unsuspecting folks, readers included, better than anyone I’ve ever read. Of course, he can also mess with your mind, and torment you with issues you have cared about for fifteen books. At one point, I was so distressed and worried, I thought I might have to hire one of Marcone’s gigantic thugs to break both of Butcher’s kneecaps. Thankfully, things played out to perfection, and I didn’t have to resort to becoming an incensed reader with vengeance on her mind! Whew. I can see the headlines now: Crazed Granny Drives All the Way From Florida to Seek and (Try To) Maim Famous Author. Says He Teased and Tormented Her Beyond Endurance. Depends May or May Not Have Been Worn On Long Drive.

(Before you jump up and down & call the PC Police…I would never have smashed Butcher’s kneecaps, honest. He’s given me too many hours of reading pleasure to warrant such a thing, even if I was mad at him for a few chapters. Besides, I don’t even own any Depends. Honest.)

If you were looking for any real book content in this review, forget about it. I don’t usually do that. I will just say the island of Demonreach is the creepiest damn place, ever, and I learned a new word while reading about Harry’s exercise regime there: Parkour. Sorry, those of you familiar with this activity. I had no clue. Luckily, I’m one of those folks who really enjoys learning new things as I read. By the end of the book, when Harry was still shouting “Parkour!” at the top of his lungs, I knew exactly what it meant. And that made me smile.

If you are new to the Dresden Files, please read the books in order. Yes, all of them. You’ll never have a clear understanding of the importance of the things that happen in Skin Game if you don’t. (Look for my Monday Giveaways. I’ve been working my way through the series as part of them.) If you have been reading the series all along, grab this book immediately. You SO need to read it, too. And if you ever meet Jim Butcher in person, reassure him his kneecaps are safe–at least from THIS deranged Granny, anyway.

Skin Game: A Novel of the Dresden Files

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Skin Game by Jim Butcher

  1. Felix on said:

    some one please take me to the store to buy one. you are a teaser.

    Like

    • Oh, you’ve got my number, all right! 🙂 But you’ve always known that, right? And Felix, you are going to LOVE this book. Holy Moly! But finish the Odd Thomas book first. It’s just as good, in a completely different way. And since no character has ever been sweeter and more endearing than Oddie, you’ll feel good when you finish reading it. THEN you can race right out and grab Skin Game, and brace yourself for a roller-coaster ride! Woohoo.

      Like

  2. Even more excited to read this series now! 😀

    Like

    • Oh, you really MUST if you love urban fantasy. It’s the Mother and Father of all UF. Don’t forget, I’m featuring the early books on my Monday giveaways each week. You could win all of the early volumes if you are quick! 🙂 And it is a series that starts out seeming so unassuming, and then just grows, and grows, and now, EXPLODES right off the page. I’m a happy camper this morning. I’ll be wearing a Dresden Glow for days, yet 😀

      Like

  3. burke59 on said:

    Sounds great–just tweeted your review!

    Like

    • Thanks, Celeste! I saw your RT, RT’d it myself, Favorited It, and Replied. Hahaha.
      It is really a fantastic book, and pushes the series along to what promises to be an unbelievable finale in a few more books. I bow down to Jim Butcher! 🙂

      Like

  4. Yay, I’m glad you liked it! I think I’m perhaps 2 or 3 books away from being caught up with my library haul, and then I can purchase the ebook version that’s sitting on my wishlist and read it.

    Like

    • You will love it, Caitlin! It’s amazing, and complex, and action-packed, and emotion-packed, and full of monsters of every kind…but full of the good guys, too, one of whom makes an unexpected return to the plot, much to my delight. And the set up for the next book is…well…GOING TO TORTURE ME FOR ANOTHER YEAR AND A HALF, if Butcher’s track record is anything to go by. OH, how I want to know what happens next!

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

