Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Beta Readers Still Needed!

3 - Photo Dalton _MG_0566

Irish Wolfhound, Just Like the One Owned by MacKenzie Cole
in Wake-Robin Ridge

If any of you would enjoy reading along with me as I write my sequel to Wake-Robin Ridge, please contact me via my email: mmeara@cfl.rr.com  This is the story of a little boy raised in the North Carolina wilderness by his grandparents. Right before his gran dies, she charges him with leaving the mountains and finding The Good People, so he sets off on a wilderness trek no ordinary ten-year old would likely survive. Ending up on top of Wake-Robin Ridge, he must decide if Sarah & Mac are the Good People he was told to seek out. If this sounds interesting to you, and you think you would enjoy being a Beta reader at the draft stage of the novel…with a chance to have some input on various topics…I want to hear from you. Thanks for your consideration.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Beta Readers Still Needed!

  1. Beautiful dogs! Our leading character has one for a best friend ❤ I love these fellows and dream of having one once I'm out of nursing school with a nice big fenced in yard.

    Like

    • I’ve always liked them, too, figuring if I ever got a big dog, I’d go right to the top. 🙂 Funny that both our characters have them. Rosheen played a pivotal part in WRR, and she will have a strong one in the sequel, as well. (Rosheen is Celtic for “horse” btw, which I thought made a good name for a dog so big.)

      Like

      • That’s a perfect name for a big dog hahaha. I would love to have one myself one day to keep my hound dog company.

        Duke plays a larger part in the upcoming novels, but as of now he’s just the sweet dog who saved our hero’s life.
        I love to see animals in literature who play a big role.

        Like

        • I find feeding and vet care for the six animals I have to be ridiculous. I don’t know how anyone can afford to feed an Irish wolfhound! 😯 I have four cats and two dachshunds, and between them, it’s a lot of money to keep them in food and kitty litter (which has gone through the ROOF, price-wise). Big dogs are out of my budget, I think. 😦 But I can write about them, and dream about them. 🙂 What kind of hound do you have?

          Like

          • He’s a cur and about 90 pounds, and we have a horse. My daughter is autistic and she received therapeutic riding lessons a few years back, and I volunteered there. We ended up buying a horse of our own (And good that we did since they later shut down a couple years after, due to loss of budget). Fortunately, our three guinea pigs cost next to nothing to feed and care for.

            Like

            • Well, at least you have those cheap to feed guinea pigs! 😀 A big dog and the mother of all pet money pits, a horse? Wow! That’s something. BUT, I think it’s wonderful that you are able to do it for your daughter. I’ve heard that riding therapy can work wonders for children (and probably adults) with all sorts of problems. Good for you!! I’m going to think of your hound as a “mutt,” though, because cur sounds…mean, somehow…and I’m sure he’s not. I know it doesn’t really mean “mean,” but it’s used that way a lot. So I’m thinking of you as the owner of a horse, three guinea pigs, and a lovable mutt of a hound. A HUGE lovable mutt of a hound, btw. NINETY pounds is a lot. Can you “see” other breeds in him? (Look how nosy I am!) 🙂

              Like

              • It was a very enjoyable experience. I helped lead the horses or hold the little children on the therapy saddles usually by walking alongside them. Some had issues such as downs and cerebral palsy so couldn’t ride alone.

                At the time, I had a knee injury too and I did my physical therapy there. It helped loads! They called him a blackmouth cur mix, he has a bit of lab in him too. He’s got the webbed paws and they’re adorable. Fortunately, I’ve discovered that feeding them the better quality food means they eat less of it.

                Another little fact I learned is that the original Old Yeller, as described in the novel, is a mountain cur I think!

                Like

                • I’ve never heard of it as anything but derogatory, so I looked it up, and there ARE two definitions:

                  1. A random-bred or mixed-breed dog. Usually used in a derogatory way. Aggressive, mean mongrel.

                  2. A highly-specialized type of dog, usually bred for hunting. Cur dogs don’t conform to a breed standard, as they aren’t a true breed. They are bred solely based on their working ability and vary quite a bit in appearance. Not derogatory when used to describe this type of dog.

                  So I learned something interesting today, too. It’s always a good day when I do! It’s one of the ways I like to exercise my mind, so thanks! I think we’re running out of room here, so we’ll chat more via email, maybe. 🙂

                  Like

                • Yup! Here in Texas they’re used for hunting wild hogs.

                  Good idea though! We’ve just run away here in the comments.

                  Like

  2. It was fun, Nick! I enjoyed learning about your pets, and learning a new use for an old word. (New to me, I mean.) Have a great evening. I think I’m going to go read for a bit. It’s midnight, and time for me to unwind. Thanks for visiting with me. 🙂

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of killer thrillers.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

