Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Humor at the Speed of Life by Ned Hickson

humor_at_the_speed_of_life_296x450

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars 

I’ve been following Ned Hickson’s wonderful blog for quite a while now, and if you don’t, you really should. It is one of the funniest blogs out there, if you ask me.  Okay, you didn’t ask me, but I’m volunteering this information, free of charge. Ned Hickson is a funny man. Guess that’s why he also writes a humor column for the Siuslaw News, an Oregon newspaper. If you don’t believe me when I tell you how funny his blog is, check it out for yourself. Or better yet, check out both his blog and his new book, Humor at the Speed of Life, a collection of some of his funniest work.

I love this book! I’ve practically worn it out, reading and reading my favorite columns. I’ve chased my husband around the house and into the garage, reading aloud to him. By the way, he does not think this is funny, Ned Hickson, and says if I don’t stop harassing him in this manner, he’s going to take your book away from me, and revoke my amazon.com privileges. I’m trying to stop. But really, some of this stuff is so good, I just want to share it with others, and chasing Mark around seemed like a better idea than standing on the corner, reading selected columns out loud to various passers by. 

If you have need of some good laughs in your life right now, and who doesn’t, you should immediately purchase a copy of Ned’s book. You’ll see what I mean. Before you know it, you, too will be chasing folks round going, “But just listen to this! It’s hilarious, I tell you!”

Humor at the Speed of Life. 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Humor at the Speed of Life by Ned Hickson

  1. My Mark is much better at humoring me. I found the first crocus of the year yesterday and he even came over and pretended to be excited for a few minutes. 🙂 Gotta love the effort, if not the honesty.

    Like

    • Too funny. Actually, I took a little creative license with mine, too. He doesn’t really run, but he does get exasperated when I try to read things to him. And to be fair, it always loses a lot in the translation. You know how they say, “You had to be there?” Sometimes I think it applies to reading as well, sort of. This book is so funny, though. You just want to share it with everyone. When I’m having a bad morning, I grab it and flip to a random column, and have my laugh for the day.

      And I LOVE crocus! They don’t grow here. Most bulbs aren’t happy without that winter dormancy. Crocus, grape hyacinths, and tulips…I miss them. Not to mention forsythia and peonies. OH! Peonies!!! Peonies and hydrangeas make me happy all over!

      Like

  2. Marcia, I just want to say thank you for all the kind words. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the book and, judging from the number of alligator photos on your FB page, am glad you’re still alive to read it.

    Like

    • Hey, there, Ned! Nice to see you. Oh, I absolutely loved the book. I re-read columns all the time. As for the alligators, well…my author page has more of them than the family one, but honestly, I’ve always loved reptiles. From a distance! 🙂 I don’t swim in any body of water that isn’t enclosed in turquoise concrete, since I prefer my canoe between me and the gators at all times.

      My plan is to stay unbitten and alive for long enough to read ALL your future books! Get to writin’, Mr, Hickson! I’m not gettin’ any younger, here. 🙂

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

anita dawes and jaye marie

words, glorious words...

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

