Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Print

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

As soon as I read the line, “A novel of vampires, werewolves and parasols,” I knew I was going to like Gail Carriger. She did not disappoint me. Soulless was a romp through a wildly unpredictable Victorian/Steampunk landscape, unlike any I’ve visited to date. Carriger’s world building is first rate, and the characters, hilarious in all their pompous speech and manners. 

In a twist I’ve never seen before, our heroine, Alexia Tarabotti, is a preternatural, and thus has no soul. Vampires, werewolves, and other supernaturals have just oodles of soul, but not our pragmatic spinster, Miss Tarabotti. Naturally, she doesn’t let a little thing like being soulless slow her down a bit, and often enjoys the gift that comes along with it to a great extent. Namely, when Alexia touches any werewolf or vampire, she renders him or her mortal, or human, for as long as she maintains bodily contact with them. Vampire fangs disappear instantly, much to the shock of any vamp foolish enough to think he’s going to nosh on Miss Tarabotti. Werewolves watch their fur retract in front of their eyes, which also turn human, losing the glow their furrier nature gives them.

The hilarious one-liners delivered by this cast of characters are priceless, playing on the restrictive social customs of the era as might be imagined if the world was filled with vampires and werewolves capering about at fancy dress balls and dinner engagements. I enjoyed Soulless so much, I started immediately on the second book of the series, Changeless. (There are five books out, so far.) 

I will say, it took me a few chapters to really become invested in the main characters. They were interesting, but so different from any characters I’ve encountered before, I wasn’t sure how to take them. Don’t be expecting your typical paranormal romance type Alpha werewolf in the lead male character, for instance. Lord Conall Maccon is big all right, but loud, gruff, bumbling…kind of dorky, really, at times. And with Alexia being so upright and spinsterly, I thought there would be no way I would find them a romantic couple. I was wrong. Soon enough, they charmed me entirely, and became endearingly romantic, even while muttering lines like “Impossible woman!” and “Insufferable man!” They are perfectly suited to one another, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series, one right after another, preferably. 

Funny stuff, this, with just enough Creep Factor thrown in to keep it interesting and unpredictable. Forget your preconceptions, and just enjoy this series for what it is–great fun.

Soulless: Book 1 of the Parasol Protectorate

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

