Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

cleansweep

My Rating: 4-1/2 of 5 Stars

“On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast.” Of course, you know the husband and wife writing team of Ilona Andrews never settles for worlds where things are as they appear “on the outside,” and Clean Sweep is no different. Imagine a universe where every supernatural being you ever heard of exists, but not in any traditional way. They don’t necessarily have the traditional abilities, nor the traditional motives, nor come from the traditional places. Perhaps they don’t even originate on this planet, but come instead from other worlds, far, far away, and might even just be passing through our world on their way to somewhere else.

In a scenario like this, what would these creatures need most? Why, a safe place to stay for the duration of their visit, of course. And thus, enter our Innkeeper. With a capital I. Because Innkeeping is a job like no other, providing neutral territory for various powerful and possibly dangerous beings who are a long way from their own homes. Once again, the world building skills of Ilona Andrews blow my mind. Combine that skill with some scary new creatures I’ve never heard of before, and a healthy dose of the witty humor that shows up in most of the books by these two, and you have the makings of a wonderful new series. 

Clean Sweep is somewhat different from anything I’ve read by the team before in that it started as a serial on the Ilona Andrews website, presented in installment form, and then put together into a finished book. That doesn’t weaken the story line, character development, or world-building at all. The only thing that keeps me from giving this the full 5-stars I usually give an Andrews book is that it was shorter than I wanted it to be. Oh, how I hated that it ended so soon. NOT that it isn’t well worth the price, oh no. Just that I wanted more, more, more. I was also a bit sad at the ending, though I can see that we have not said a final goodbye to anyone yet. I can’t wait for the next book, and I’m hoping it will be longer, fuller, and even more delicious. The setting alone pretty much guarantees that anything can happen. I mean, with a witch capable of some serious magic, a broom that can be anything she demands, and a sentient Inn that shifts its walls and defenses as needed…well, one can only imagine what Ilona Andrews will have it all doing next.

Clean Sweep is a must-read for any Andrews fan, and a darn good introduction to their writing style for those who haven’t discovered them yet. I highly recommend it.

Clean Sweep

 If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

  1. I loved this book! Once again, Andrews wrote characters I was truly invested in, and made me smile a few times.

    I agree with you, I wanted more book. Though really where it ended did make sense…

    Like

    • Yes, but…but…BOTH OF THEM???? (I can say no more, lest I spoil this for anyone else reading.) Jeeeminy! I was SAD. But I want another book now. And I want it SOON. Yet…I think I read where they are working on something completely different. Have you heard anything? I check their website from time to time, and I do get the newsletter, but it is often full of other stuff. Guess I should make a concerted effort to see what we are getting next.

      I LOVED the Inn in this book, though, didn’t you? I want a house just like that.

      Me: Clean the kitchen.
      House You got it.
      Me: Need more space in the library.
      House: Moving walls right away.

      Okay, the Inn didn’t actually talk, I know, but still. Ask and ye shall receive never worked better in an Urban Fantasy.

      🙂

      Like

      • Yep, I think they’re working on Avon. But another Clean Sweep is definitely coming.

        The Inn was awesome, yes. Also that dog!

        Like

        • I don’t even know what Avon is. I haven’t been following closely the last couple of months. Is this another new series? Are we going to get a Kate Daniels this year? And why can’t we got back to the Edge? I really felt like that one left us totally hanging. I mean, they let it be known that a war was on the horizon, and then, no more? That’s the only thing they’ve done in any series that has me unhappy.

          So Avon…what is it?

          Like

          • http://www.ilona-andrews.com/snippet-writing/avon-1-first-glimpse

            http://www.ilona-andrews.com/snippet-writing/friday-snippet

            There’s the first and second mention of it on their blog. (Magic PI lady, basically.)

            I have no idea about the when for K.D. #7, only that it will happen. And I recall reading that they are done, done, done, with Edge. So I guess we’ll have to survive. :/

            Like

            • Thanks, Caitlin. I’ll check out the links. And yes, I know they said they were done with the Edge books, but I just don’t understand why they ended on a cliffhanging note, saying that war was now unavoidable, etc, etc, and then not take us there. (Not to mention, I seriously wanted them to give what’s-his-face back his…FACE!) I keep thinking that maybe they will continue the saga with books from the Weird, since all the best Edgers now live there. I know I’m in total Edge Denial, but they left us hanging, without finishing the story, and I reallyreallyreally hate that.

              As I say, it’s the only thing they’ve done in their various series that has bothered me, but it definitely made me unhappy and unsatisfied. It’s bad enough not to get another book with William Wolf in it, but nothing else from the Edge, when I need to know how it all ends…well. That’s just so strange, to me.

              Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

