Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

kids reading back to back

It’s Friday, once again, after a month of Fridays that got lost in the shuffle around here. So, let’s get back with the program. Time for a What Are You Reading post. I’m about two-thirds of the way through a very creepy book called The Room Beyond, by Stephanie Elmas. I thought I was choosing something fairly ordinary in the way of “regular” fiction, but oh, no. Even when I don’t intend to, I find myself reading weird and creepy stuff. I’m enjoying it, so far, and can’t wait to find out the rest of the mystery, though some of it is relentlessly dark. I’ll do a review as soon as I finish.

Your turn. What are you reading this week? And what’s next in your To Be Read pile? As always, inquiring minds wanna know.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. Actually I’m going back and forth between 2 books. The one I love is called Sterling Redmond. It’s in the 1800’s and set in Maryland. It has a great story and never dull. The other is a cookbook called 500 Low Sodium Recipes. It starts out with dry seasonings you can make up and keep on hand. Very good cookbook for people watching their sodium.

    Like

    • Making notes on both. I haven’t read any good historical fiction in a while, so Sterling Redmond sounds like something I need to check out. And the cookbook sounds intriguing, as well. I’ve got a new slow cooker cookbook to review soon, myself. Reading can’t always be about escape, I guess. Sometimes we have to learn things about the Real World, too.

      😀

      Good to see you here today, Lori! Thanks for stopping by. You still want to be an advanced copy reader when I get to that point with Swamp Ghosts? Hope so! I’ve missed your comments. Have a great day!

      Like

  2. I was reading Days of Blood and Starlight, but then I had to set it aside for The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and A Study in Silks. I have three non-renewable library books due in two days, eep!

    Like

  3. Still reading The Lost Journal, it sort of fizzled out but I am determined to finish it. Next on my reading list is a book written by a friend Paula McCoy Williams, The Bond. And of coarse I am enjoying a book in progress by a special person!! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Patty! Glad you are having fun Beta reading Swamp Ghosts. (Gonna get you to read Wake-Robin Ridge, one of these days.)
      🙂

      It’s hard for me to finish a book when I start to lose interest. I hate wasting my precious reading hours on something I’m not enjoying, unless it’s required reading for something specific. I’ll check out The Bond. Love hearing what makes everyone turn the next page.

      Thanks for stopping by! Always good to hear from you.

      Like

      • Actually Wake – Robin Ridge is next after The Bond.

        Like

        • Oh, darn! If you actually start reading it, I won’t have anything to pick on you about! 😉

          Seriously, it may or may not be your usual kind of book, but I’m hoping you will like it. I’ll be interested in hearing what you think when you are done, either way. Also, wanted to let you know that I have responded to your posts on the Swamp Ghosts blog, but I’m not sure if you’ve seen the replies. (If you don’t check the box next to where you make your comments, you won’t be notified when you get responses from any of us.)

          Read on, Patty B, read on!
          😀

          Like

          • thanks for the hint…I will visit Swamp Ghosts – plan on doing some more reading on that. And trust me, people can always find things to pick on me with!! lol I am one of those targets. 🙂 If Robin Ridge is anything like Swamp Ghosts you may have directed to a new type of style.

            Like

            • Hi, Patty! Romantic Suspense is the basic genre description for both of my books, but like the genre over-all, there is a big difference between one story and the other. I think of Wake-Robin Ridge as being more of a love story with a spooky element thrown in for fun, and really, a simpler tale. Mostly.

              Swamp Ghosts has a larger cast of characters, a bigger mystery aspect, and a more complicated plot line. At least that’s the PLAN! But hopefully, you’ll find the characters engaging in both books, and get caught up in the stories. Writing these books has been the most fun I’ve ever had by myself…hahaha. Seriously, it has been a dream come true for me. And it only took me 64 years after my first realization that I wanted to be a writer (at age 5) to get around to it!

              😀

              Hope you have fun when you get started on Wake-Robin Ridge. I’m fixing IWAB so that you Beta readers can originate posts on the main page, in addition to just being able to respond to things. It might involve inviting you all to join again, though. I can’t seem to see any other way right now, but I’ll keep you posted.

              Like

              • I always remind myself that Laura Ingels Wilder did not start writing until later in life – so we are in good company. I can tell you are enjoying writing – it over flows into your words.

                Like

  4. Finishing up The Dead Room by Robert Ellis — a creepy thriller set in my old environs of Philadelphia. And getting into the audiobook of The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri.

    Like

  5. Oh, I like creepy!
    😉

    I’ll have to check The Dead Room out. I just finished a creepy one, too, that I’m hoping to review today. A Room Beyond. We have to beware of all those creepy rooms, don’t we?

    Good to see you, Steve! Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

