Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Still Here!!

SH4small

The Naiad
St. Johns River Eco Tours
Moored at Highbanks Marina, DeBary Florida

So sorry I’ve been MIA for the last two weeks, but I have been spending most of my days at the hospital with my 89-year-old mother, who fell and broke her hip and her wrist. This has been a very exhausting time for all of us, her in particular, and she has had some ups and downs, requiring more than one procedure to help her get back on track. Today was a better day than yesterday, so I’m hoping she will soon be able to continue with her physical therapy and get back to her room and her friends at the nursing home where she lives. She misses her room & her things, and her friends there. And they miss her.

I’m hoping to have some time to get a few reviews up in the next day or two, if all goes well. In the meantime, I have a wonderful link I want to share with you. Some of you know I’m writing my 2nd book now, set in Florida, amidst our beautiful rivers and wildlife. My heroine runs an Eco-Tour boat on the St. Johns River, which is interesting in itself, being one of very few rivers in the country that flows north. The St. Johns is incredibly beautiful and teeming with all manner of wildlife and birds. There is a wonderful lady who has her own eco-tour boat, based at Highbanks Marina in DeBary, Florida. I’ve been on her tour, and she was my inspiration for my new heroine, Maggie Devlin. Monday I took a break from everything for a short time & drove to the marina to interview her about her life on the river. I had a list of questions for her, and she very graciously took me out for an hour’s ride in her smaller pontoon boat, while answering my questions and sharing some interesting stories about her tours.

If any of you are in this area, you really should do yourself a favor and go for a ride with Captain Jeanne Bell, on her lovely boat, The Naiad. You’ll enjoy every minute of the roughly 2-hour cruise, and you’ll see all sorts of fun stuff like alligators, wading birds, eagles, deer, and maybe even manatees or a bobcat. You never know what you might come across. Please check out her website to see some great photos. And on the main page is a terrific video showing you what the cruise is like. (Be sure to click the icon in the lower right corner to see it full sized.) And just think…that’s where I went to relax Monday, when the pressure of the last two weeks got to be too much. It was so beautiful! (We even saw purple gallinules, one of my favorite water birds. This is not my photo, but really shows what a gorgeous bird this is.)

zzPurpleGallinule1

Here’s the link for you. Check it out! And go see Captain Jeanne when you are in DeBary!   St.  Johns River Eco-Tours

Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Still Here!!

  1. I hope your mom can soon be back home too, we always do much better in familiar surroundings.

    Like

    • Thank you, Patty. I will be going over to the hospital shortly to see if she is still improving today. Fingers crossed. I have been trying to write a bit at night, as well, and have uploaded the beginning of CH6 on IWAB. Looking forward to seeing what you think of what I’ve done so far. Hope things are going well for you, too! You are a busy lady.

      Like

      • Well not so much busy just catching up!! But I am getting there, got a lot done this weekend. I just told someone it is amazing how much I let things drop these past few months. But I am thankful that I feel like tackling things and getting back on track.

        Like

        • There is nothing so fatiguing as emotional and mental stress. It sucks the energy right out of you, and it takes a while for your body to regroup. Sending you lots of positive thoughts and prayers and well wishes.

          Like

          • Thank you for the positive thoughts, you are so right that is exaclty how I have felt these past few months like the energy was sucked right out of me, now I am literally seeing the fog lift and everything looks so much clearer.

            Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

J.R. RASMUSSEN

fantasy author

Snake Buddies

Educate. Inspire. Conserve.

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

From the Pen of Mae Clair

Suspense/mystery author supporting other authors, and sharing folklore

