Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

The Second Time Around: Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

In keeping with my plan to intersperse some older reviews of more “literary” works with my current reviews, which are often Urban Fantasy works, here is The Second Time Around #2. Enjoy!

Charles Frazier's Cold Mountain cover

My Rating:  5 of 5 Stars

Written in 1997, Cold Mountain remains one of my favorite books of all time.  A modern day classic set during the Civil War, it details the long journey home of a Confederate soldier who has recovered from serious injury, and knows he is going to be sent back to fight again.  The tale of his arduous struggle to get back to Ada, the woman he loves,  is so incredibly beautiful, I was in tears throughout much of the book.  (Again, since my husband says I cry at K-Mart openings, you can make of that what you will.) 

This is a book readers seem to love passionately or hate with great vigor.  Sometimes I think some people just hate any book that becomes a huge commercial success, as though if it were really great literature, it would remain obscure, and only the elite few would ever read it.  Thankfully, the ones who love Cold Mountain are in the VAST majority, as it is so deserving of the praise heaped upon it by nearly all who have read it.

The mountains of North Carolina are special to me…almost magical in their beauty and strength.  They are part of the oldest mountain chain on the planet, and they give off an almost primeval sense of mystic power.  I felt every bit of that power while reading Frazier’s beautifully descriptive prose.  I also felt every desperate longing Inman carried in his heart, as he struggled to reach his home.  His narrative alternates with that of Ada, who is a city girl woefully unprepared to run the family farm she has inherited.  She shows tremendous pluck and courage of her own, trying to make a go of it during the deprivations of a brutal war. 

When I first began to read the book, I was put off a bit by the complete lack of quotation marks around any dialog, throughout.  I thought it was a bit of an affectation, and I could have done without it.  But as I read, a strange thing happened.  Somehow, the spoken words began to feel as if they were inside my head, in a much stronger way than normal dialog would be.  It was as though leaving the quotation marks out made the words move IN, and become part of my own thinking processes.  Whether this was intentional, I have no idea, but it turned what began as an irritation into something rather profound. 

There was a pretty good movie made of Cold Mountain, starring Jude Law as Inman, Nicole Kidman as Ada, and Renee Zellweger as Ruby.  When I first read the casting, I thought they had gotten it all wrong, as is the way in Hollywood so often.  None of the actors fit the physical descriptions of Frazier’s characters.  But I actually ended up liking all three  in their roles.  Especially Jude Law, who often brings a great intensity to the characters he portrays.  So overall, I thought Cold Mountain made a good movie.  But it made a GREAT book, far and above what any film could possibly capture, no matter how skilled the actors. 

I highly recommend this book to those who haven’t already discovered it on their own.  It’s lovely, passionate, and heart-wrenching!

Cold Mountain

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Second Time Around: Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

  1. Great review. I really enjoyed Cold Mountain — I thought the sense of place and the mythic feel of the narrative really worked for me.

    Do not get me started on Thirteen Moons, however. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Steve! Glad you agree with me on Cold Mountain. It’s such a beautiful work! I never could work up enough interest in Thirteen Moons to read it, for some reason. I think some writers who manage to produce a book so perfect, both as a work of literary art and as a commercial success, never quite find their way back to that level again. It’s a shame, really. (Maybe it’s the Salinger curse?) Maybe some writers only have one really great book in them. I don’t know, but I do know that I will never forget Cold Mountain, and Charles Frazier will hold a permanent place of honor in my heart for creating it.

      Thanks for stopping by. I still haven’t been able to get back to reading all my favorite blogs on a regular basis, yet. Hope that will change soon, so I can stop by and see how my favorite pointer is doing. 🙂

      Like

      • It’s a funny thing — that lightning in a bottle. As a writer/artist it must me simultaneously exultant and frustrating.

        Your favorite pointer is currently asleep on the couch… 🙂

        Like

        • Lightning in a bottle is a perfect way to describe it. I think it would be so hard to live up to what people want from you after writing a masterpiece…a person could buckle under the weight of all those expectations. (I’ll be happy just telling little stories for the amusement of a few readers here and there. There’s value in that, too.) But a Work of Art carries an awful lot of pressure along with it.

          Give Penny a pat on the head from her Granny M in Florida. She’s truly one of the prettiest dogs I know of! You got a Specimen, right there!

          Like

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

