Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

It’s “What Are You Reading Time” Again!

kid-reading-book

 

Yet another Friday has rolled around. Strange how that happens, isn’t it? Almost like the calendar was planned that way! 😉  And we here at Bookin’ It (I’m using the Literary “We”, of course), want to know what you are reading this week. Tell, tell! How else am I supposed to keep my To Be Read list at the current level, which is somewhere between “An Awful Lot of Books” and “An Amount of Books Impossible to Be Read In A Dozen Lifetimes?”

I am just getting started on the latest in the Chicagoland Vampires series, Biting Bad, a series I have been following since the beginning. I have to say this book isn’t grabbing me as quickly as some in the series have done, probably because there is an awful lot of Mallory in the first few chapters. I don’t know about you other fans of Chicagoland, but I do not like Mallory. Never have. Probably never will. No matter how hard Chloe Neill tries to make her likable, forgivable, or even interesting (I’m over the blue hair, btw), she just doesn’t work for me. Luckily, there’s Merit who is forgivable, even when she’s being a dope, and Ethan, who can do no wrong in my book. Or Chloe Neill’s book, if I’m being accurate, here. Ethan Sullivan is one of my favorite vampity guys, in a world filled with a veritable GLUT of them to choose from. He stands out in the fangy crowd, to me, and thus I will finish the book, even if I have to read about the infinitely whiny Mallory, blecch. Merit and her Liege are worth it.

So, what are YOU reading that I need to know about? My last 2 books reviewed, Dead Iron and Libriomancer, were suggested to me by a fellow blogger, so I’m interested in knowing what your bookmark is resting in today! Share, please! And happy reading!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “It’s “What Are You Reading Time” Again!

  1. I’m reading, Mary Jo Putney’s SOMETIMES A ROGUE. I love regencies, and I couldn’t resist pre-ordering it when I read the back cover copy, “When the very well bred Miss Sara Clarke-Townsend impulsively takes the place of her pregnant twin, it puts her own life at risk.” That’s very similar to the premise of my contemporary romantic suspense, VEILED MIRROR, which I’ve just re-released. I guess great minds think alike (though I wouldn’t put myself in Mary Jo’s league.)

    Like

    • Hi, Frankie! SO nice to see you here! I used to read a lot of Regency type books, but haven’t lately. I’m making a mental note to myself to check this one out, but I’ll be checking “Veiled Mirror” first. I really enjoyed your novel, “Dangerous Talents,” btw, and have 2 more of your books on my Kindle, waiting for me to catch up. I’m always and forever behind these days. I have been reading your book, “Blazing A Trail,” though, and learning a lot!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Always nice to see you.

      Like

  2. I’m reading Heroics for Beginners; John Moore, a lighthearted parody of the classic ‘defeat the evil overlord’ story, and The Book Thief; Mark Zusak, about a young girl growing up in Nazi Germany. I found it on so many blog lists, I decided to take a chance on it, even though it sounded like it could be quite sad.

    Quite a difference in tone, but maybe they’ll balance each other out.

    Like

    • Oh, interesting sounding books, both, Caitlin! Marking them down, for sure. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment today. I’m always happy to hear what you are reading.

      Like

  3. Right now I am not reading much of anything new and still reading the mystery ” The Lost Journal”, bible study starts tomorrow so I am preparing for that. But once I get in groove of my bible study I have a few books ready to go….and you can probably guess one of them!! 🙂

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

