Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines

libriomancer

My Rating: 3-1/2 Stars out of 5

This book was a lot of fun. So much fun that I debated giving it a full four stars, but then decided that “fun” would only carry it so far. The premise is wonderful. A certain group of magic folk, libriomancers, can reach into books and pull forth objects, hauling everything from enchanted swords to magical potions to scary creatures written about in various horror books. Consequently, some very strange things have been let loose amongst humans, and a great deal of policing has to take place to try to protect the innocent from falling victim to a plethora of big, bad uglies. Since the imaginations of writers over the centuries have spawned all sorts of supernatural beings and peculiar devices, it makes for an almost unlimited amount of trouble to be dealt with. 

Our hero, Isaac Vainio (love the name) is a good-hearted, well-meaning, but somewhat unpredictable libriomancer who has gotten himself into trouble so many times, he’s been removed from active duty, and has been placed in a library, cataloging the ever-changing devices and creatures that keep popping up in new fiction. Needless to say, events transpire that send Isaac out on yet another wild adventure. Isaac is a nice enough character, but I have to say, I never felt a real connection to him, other than just that…he was nice. I actually liked his fire-spider more. More than any character in the book, in fact, and I have arachniphobia! But the fire-spider, Smudge, was a clever touch, and won me over.

What I enjoyed most about Libriomancer were all the funny literary references to things like Sanguinarious Meyerii (or Sparklers, as they are called) and their far older cousins, Sanguinarious Stokerus. Lots of fun for book lovers who recognize the various plots, devices, and characters that have been pulled forth into this world. 

The female interest in the book was a dryad, who had been poorly written by some hack author in the 80’s (I believe) as a teenage boy’s fantasy woman, destined to do nothing but live for love. Not sure I connected with her at all.

What I liked the least of all was the uncomfortable ending, which I won’t give away, but which I found completely unbelievable. Talk about sounding like a teenage boy’s fantasy! Ewww.  

The lack of emotional connection with any of the characters and the weird ending are what keep me from giving this 4 stars. But it was very imaginative and I will probably give the second book a chance to see if it grows into the potential I felt was there throughout.  A clever, but flawed, book that could turn into a lot more, if you are willing to give it a chance, and I am. At least one more, anyway.

Libriomancer

 If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines

  1. Interestingly enough, I had recently finished Jim Hines’ Jig the Goblin books before I read Libromancer.

    Have you read them? They’re pretty funny–a look at the fantasy quest from the point of view of the low-level bad guys, the goblins.

    Like

    • Nope, this is the first Hines book I’ve read, and I might not have found IT, if you hadn’t mentioned it somewhere. I will be sure to check out the goblins. I haven’t read many good books on goblins, in fact. *scratching head, here, trying to remember any at all.* Thanks for the suggestion. Caitlin. I like when you throw out titles I’ve not even heard of yet.

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

