Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews

magicrises

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Finally! Found a few minutes to finish this book. All I can say is, wow! Maybe I’ll say it twice. Wow. Louder this time. WOW! Are you getting my drift, here? I loved this book! It had everything I wanted in it, and then some.

I’ve been a fan of the Kate Daniel’s series for some time, and an even bigger fan of the husband and wife writing team of Ilona Andrews. It’s my opinion that they can’t write a bad book. Just varying degrees of good. And Magic Rises varied its way all the way to the top of the heap!

You want action? It’s got action galore. You want red-hot chemistry? It’s got more of that than ever before, and frankly, the chemistry between Kate and Curran has been pretty good all along. But it definitely got kicked up a notch in this one. (A little more graphic than I’m used to from them, true, but it was handled well. No pun intended.) You want an interesting and unusual plot line. Magic Rises has that, too, with plenty of twists and turns. Okay, you can see some of them coming, but others, not so much. And for those of you who love to see Curran get his mane in a twist, well, great goobley-oobley! Can we all sing a few bars of The Lion RAGES Tonight? (Cuz he sure don’t sleep!) And no one puts on a power display like His Furriness.

My only complaint about the whole book is a bit of unsavory dialogue engaged in by a new character to the series. I didn’t care for it at all, and it seemed out of place in this book. But that’s just a personal opinion, and didn’t diminish the things I loved at all. 

If you are a dedicated fan of the series and haven’t picked up Magic Rises yet, RUN, don’t walk, to your nearest book store and grab yourself a copy. Or head to amazon and download it in seconds. If you’ve never read this series, do yourself a huge favor and get started on it. But be sure to start with the first book, Magic Bites, and read them in order. You won’t understand the development of certain events if you don’t. Then when you are done with the Magic series, read their On The Edge series, too. I’m telling you, Ilona Andrews can’t write a bad book. Would I lie?

By the way, I do confess to being mystified as to how Kate Daniels (as portrayed on the cover of her books) has suddenly become not just a different person, but perhaps a person of a different heritage.  Just wonderin’ is all.

Magic Rises (Kate Daniels)

 If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews

  1. I finally got started on this book! And I had to put it down just as were-leader you-know-who walks into the room for the first time…

    (Cover art… who can make sense of it?)

    Like

  2. This is THE book that finally made me a big Curran fan, Caitlin. I always liked him for Kate, but this time, I liked him because . . . well . . . because he made me wish I were Kate!

    😀 Holy Moly! Wait until you get through the whole thing. It’s definitely my favorite in the series, and not just because of His Furriness. The plot rocks, too! It was the best escape of the last few weeks, for sure. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    As for cover art, I’m such a huge fan of it. And often, they really do get it right. These covers aren’t my very favorites, though they haven’t been bad. But all of a sudden, Kate looks more like the little were-tiger girl, Dali, I think her name is. Ya gotta wonder what happened. (Don’t get me wrong. It’s a fine look. It’s just not the Kate we’ve all come to recognize, and usually when they have to change cover models for a series, they try to find someone as similar as possible, so I was surprised.)

    Thanks for stopping by, and let me know what you think of the book!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

