Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

reading_baby_small

Surprise! I’m still here and still kicking! So sorry to have been away for two weeks, but I have been completely swamped with the final edits of my book, and it seems like there have not been enough hours in the day to do that and blog, too. But I swear, it’s almost done, and I will be back to my regular posts.

In the meantime, I thought I could at least get a What Are You Reading post out there. I’m halfway through the latest Kate Daniel’s “Magic” series, by Ilona Andrews. This series has been consistently entertaining to me, and this latest book, Magic Rises, is no exception. I’m loving it!  (When I can find 5 minutes to read a few pages, that is.)

So, what are YOU reading this week? Remember, inquiring minds wanna know.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. “The Lost Journal” by Chris Blewitt I just started it but it is pretty good so far and is a mystery about … you got it a lost journal. The first chapter grabbed my attention but like you I can’t seem to find the time to sit and just read. I have a feeling this book will be a page turner and I will need more than a few spare minutes to get it into it. I am the “one more page” person before I can get up and get things done and by then it is an hour later, dinner is late and the clothes are not ironed and folded and put away!! 🙂

    Like

    • Ironed? Ironed? What is this strange “ironing” activity you mention??? The only iron I know about these days comes in my multi-vitamin tablet! 😀

      I like the sound of your book, and as usual, will look it up. My list grows and grows. I hope you find a bit more time to yourself so you can really get into the story. I’m like you. I don’t want to be interrupted by anything once I’m really enjoying a read.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s always nice to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

      • 😀 I wish I did not know that word!!

        Like

        • You should do what I do. If it needs to be ironed, I don’t buy it. Period. I use my iron once a year, to iron my special Christmas tablecloth. That’s pretty much it. I figured, who needs it? I live in knit shirts and jeans or shorts. None of those need it. Mark’s shirts are done at the laundry. Wooohooo. No ironing for me. More time for gardening, reading, writing, and things I’d rather be doing. It’s a system I can live with! 😀

          Like

  2. I’m reading the short story collection “Unnatural Creatures” , which was collected and edited by Neil Gaiman and am churning through the audiobook of “IT” by Stephen King (all 44 hours of IT!)

    Like

  3. Hi, Steve! I was hoping you’d stop by. Hey, I’m about halfway through Unnatural Creatures, too. I have mixed feelings about the stories, so far, liking some better than others. But that’s the way it usually is with an anthology. I am still working my way through a lot of Gaiman’s stuff, and always find his take on things to be worth the read.

    You are a stronger person than I, listening to an audiobook of “It.” I read it (It?) when it came out. It was not a favorite of mine, I’m afraid. There have been books by King I really liked and others I thought were bloated and…well, this may sound strange, but the word that comes to mind is “sodden.” As in waterlogged. Just too weighted down.

    However, the King works that I like, I like very much, going all the way back to ‘Salem’s Lot, Carrie, Pet Sematary, Christine, and others. There was just a period there in the middle of his career where he went off into the Hinterlands of his mind, and wrote a plethora of stuff I couldn’t choke my way through.

    (Please all you Stephen King fans, know that I think his writing skill is ALL THERE, believe me. I couldn’t write like Stephen King in a dozen lifetimes. But that doesn’t mean all of his books were genuinely good. Just my own opinion, is all.)

    Anyway, how are you liking Unnatural Creatures? And I want to hear if you really make it all the way through “It” I guess there are worse things to listen to. It could be Tommyknockers. Eeek.
    😯

    Like

    • Like you, I’m mostly enjoying Unnatural Creatures, along with the inclusion of a couple of “meh” stories. I loved the one about the wasps and the bees — I think that was my favorite so far.

      I actually put down IT when I was in my 20s. Gave up — which is something I almost NEVER do, but hey, it was 1000+ pages and I thought it was bloated. There was a time when I didn’t like King’s stuff for that reason (Needful Things, Dreamcatchers, Tommyknockers I thought were all blech) — but it was at King’s worst years of drug and alcohol abuse.

      I had so many friends that were King aficionados who couldn’t believe that I didn’t like IT because it was their favorite, so I decided to give it another shot. And I have to say that I’ve enjoyed listening to this audiobook. At times it does seem to go on and on… but mostly it’s pretty good stuff.

      I think Pet Semetary was the scariest book I ever read.

      Like

      • Glad you weren’t insulted at my comments on King. I agree that the worst of it all was during his self-admitted years of substance abuse. I can read a 1,000 page book, but it has to be better than some of those were. And the three you mentioned were among the ones I hated most. I’m still trying to forget Tommyknockers. GAH. And I know this is going to really make some fans angry, but I absolutely despised Misery. To me, it was such a hateful book, it depressed the devil out of me. I like being scared and shivery. I don’t like being disgusted or depressed.

        I also agree about Pet Sematary. It was truly scary and I loved it from start to finish. I think he got that one exactly right.

        Hmmm. “It” is easier in audio form? Maybe there’s something in the recording that makes the bloat go away. Sort of like Gas-X??

        😀

        I hope you enjoy It this time around. Check back in.

        Like

  4. Hi Marcia, i see you’ve already finished Magic Rises 🙂 glad you enjoyed it, because
    that’s what i’m reading!
    After that… i don’t know, maybe i’ll start with “Of Beast and Beauty” by Stacey Jay or maybe “The City’s Son” by Tom Pollock.
    Hope you’re well 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Susana! Really glad to hear from you. Yes, I loved Magic Rises. When you finish, stop by and post under my review. I wanna know what your thoughts are.

      I’m good, thanks. Finishing up the edits of my last chapter today, and almost ready to publish. Nicki’s nearly done with my spiffy cover, and it looks like it own’t be much longer, fingers crossed.

      I will check out these books you mention. Hope you’ve been well! Stop by more often!

      Like

  5. Biographies (Simone de Beauvoir, Arthur Miller), the plays of Henrik Ibsen (for the millionth time, it seems), and a book about the making of The Clash’s London Calling.

    Like

  6. Hi, Maedez! You know, I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t read a biography in a long time. I think I have been too busy escaping from reality to want to deal with real people.
    😉

    You have spurred me to check out the biography section of the bookstore. Thanks! I appreciate your stopping by, as always.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Life is complex, intricate, beautiful. Write it that way.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

