Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Deeply Odd by Dean Koontz

deeply-odd

My Rating 4 of 5 Stars

I have always enjoyed Dean Koontz more than any other writer of modern horror, bar none. In addition to his ability to scare the bejeebers out of me, he always writes with compassion, and with a great respect and love for the women in his stories. It never fails to convince me that Koontz is a man who actually understands both love and grace. The entire Odd Thomas series is a perfect example of this, and Oddie is one of the most admirable and memorable characters I’ve ever enjoyed spending time with. He’s caring, kind, thoughtful, loyal, and devastatingly funny. And he understands what it is to commit to someone with your whole heart, for all eternity, and beyond the boundaries of this world. Because of this, he is on a mission that even he, so far, doesn’t fully understand.

As readers, we are along on the mission with him, and are watching over his shoulder as he encounters evils of every sort. He’s flawed (but not nearly as much as he thinks he is), and makes mistakes (but not nearly as many as he blames himself for), and he’s often scared witless by the things he encounters. But he perseveres, regardless of where his path takes him, and it is very apparent in Deeply Odd that he will be reaching the end of his journey, soon. We will have to say goodbye to Pico Mundo’s favorite fry cook, and it will be a bittersweet parting, I’m sure. But it will be what he has been moving toward since that first wonderful and surprising book, Odd Thomas. Any reader paying even a modicum of attention to date will have a pretty good idea of where this is heading. I’m certain Koontz will throw in some unexpected twists, but I’m counting on him being sure that Oddie’s deepest dream is realized.

Deeply Odd was not my favorite book of the series, I have to admit, due in large part to there being an awful lot of rambling through the complexities of Oddie’s mind. Now, he’s an introspective guy, our remarkable fry cook, and he often has long, wandering thoughts, filled with observations both profound and hilarious. It just seemed like there were a lot more of those than usual this time around, and I felt it slowed the book down a bit. But it in no way decreased my pleasure, overall, nor my thoughts of how wonderful it would be to know someone like Odd Thomas. He touches my heart. 

Reviews of Deeply Odd run the gamut from 5 stars to 1. For me, it is still a solid 4, faults and all, and much of that is due to the introduction of some new and interesting characters, and the hints of what may come in the next book, which I have heard will be the final one. I’m looking forward to it, even if it means the series is over. Oddie has traveled a long way on his journey, and it’s time for him to get his reward. The world will be a sadder place without him, but a better place for those of us who have grown to love him. If we take away a bit of who Odd Thomas is in our hearts, perhaps we will each be blessed with a little more love and grace, ourselves.

If you have been following this series, you will want to read Deeply Odd. If you haven’t, what are you waiting for? Pick up the first book, Odd Thomas, and get started!

Deeply Odd: An Odd Thomas Novel

 If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Deeply Odd by Dean Koontz

  1. Felix on said:

    really ?
    As you know, I’m reading the second book in the series. “Forever Odd”.
    I also am loving this series and the style of writing of Dean Koontz.
    I’m so glad you introduced Oddie to me.

    Like

    • I’m glad you are enjoying the books, Felix. Oddie is a great character, and I have really loved this series, too. Thanks for stopping by tonight. Always great to see you pop in. (I got the missing book, by the way, so next time I see you, you can have the rest of the series to work on as you get time.) Good night, my friend.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this. I used to read every Dean Koontz book, then stopped several years ago. Wasn’t sure I was pleased with the newer works. However I will commit to reading Odd Thomas and seeing if it lives up to the Mr. Koontz of old.

    Like

    • Rita, I won’t say the Odd Thomas series is like any of Koontz’s earlier books. Somehow, even though there are scary beings and things throughout, Oddie, himself, is such a gentle character it adds a different nuance. He has to deal with lots of people and creatures that are awful, but he lends such an air of honor and respect to everything he does, that the books work for me on every level.

      I loved the early Koontz books, but I love Odd Thomas even more. I think his approach to writing has changed a good deal, and even though some recent works have been much more mellow than some of his fans like, Odd Thomas manages to strike the right balance. There is certainly a strong contrast between Good and Evil at play, and I really enjoy the humor Odd injects into things.

      Try the first book. If you aren’t charmed by it, well, no harm done. But I’ll bet when you read the first one, you’ll want to keep going. I’m going to have a hard time saying goodbye to Oddie when it’s all over.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I appreciate it. Hope to see you here more often!

      Like

      • And thank you for replying. I definitely will try it. (I have been lurking here without commenting for a while now, finally felt compelled to add my thoughts).

        Like

        • Glad to know you’ve been visiting regularly. Please don’t hesitate to jump in any time you have something to say. You can even just say “Hi,” if you want. 🙂 I’m easy! And I love to hear from visitors, whether they agree with my take on stuff or not. Let me know what you think of Odd Thomas when you read it. (You can come right back to this thread to post, if you want.)

          Have a great day.

          Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

