Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Bed In Summer by Robert Louis Stevenson

crepuscular-joy

In winter I get up at night
And dress by yellow candle-light.
In summer quite the other way,
I have to go to bed by day.

I have to go to bed and see
The birds still hopping on the tree,
Or hear the grown-up people’s feet
Still going past me in the street.

And does it not seem hard to you,
When all the sky is clear and blue,
And I should like so much to play,
To have to go to bed by day?

 

NOTE: I wonder how many parents have heard that plaintive cry, “But it’s still LIGHT out!” Oh, how I hated to come in for my bath and get ready for bed. Games of Mother May I and Red Rover, Red Rover and Simon Says all coming to an end, and it wasn’t even dark yet! Well, not completely, anyway.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Bed In Summer by Robert Louis Stevenson

  1. Felix on said:

    To be young again. I think of my childhood and those of my kids. Now, I see this in my grand kids. The story repeats.

    Like

    • And it’s even better the second time around! I just love being a Granny. If only I could get my daughter & hubby to move back to this coast so I could see my grandson now and then, life would be perfect. They are back to considering Charleston, thankfully. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

      Like

  2. That was me! By the time I was 8 all the neighbor kids played outside until about 10:00 when it really was dark. Here in California it gets dark a lot earlier in the summer than it did in Indiana. I loved playing in the twilight hours, but as a young child I did my share of whining! 🙂 How’s the book going? Are you ready for publication? I’m sorry I haven’t been on the site reading recently. I’m going to be your first purchaser and book reviewer! 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, those long summer evenings, playing tag, catching fireflies…they were heavenly.

      I’m about 1/3 of the way through the editing process, and it is going well. I’m hoping to have it published no later than November. Maybe earlier if things fall into place. Glad to know I have a buyer lined up already! Hahaha. Hope you will like it, and will be KIND in your reviews! 😀 Or at least gentle.

      Thanks!

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

