Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

bearreading

Yep, it’s time for another What Are You Reading post. Inquiring minds wanna know!

I have just gotten started on Neil Gaiman’s Stardust. I’m not very far into the book, but I am thoroughly enjoying what I have read to date. I can’t wait to see how all these many characters connect to each other, and whether or not the hero’s search for a fallen star, which he intends to present to his lady love, will be fruitful. And if it is, will said ladylove really have been worth the journey, or is his destiny to meet someone else along the way? This is the third book of Gaiman’s I’ve read, and so far, his writing hasn’t failed to pull me into worlds of fantasy and dreams and occasionally, nightmares.  I will be reviewing Stardust as soon as I manage to find time to finish it.

So tell me, my fellow bloggers, what are YOU reading this week?  Let us hear from you!

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. Juggling 2 books at the moment…. Inferno by Dan Brown and Paris by Edward Rutherfurd. Paris is HUGE, but all Edward Rutherfurd books are. I read many others by him and enjoyed them all. Not your cup of tea, I know… but I love the history. Sarum, London, New York and Russka. They all start back when the land is lived on by the natives and bring it through history to the present day. This will keep me busy for a while! 🙂

    Like

    • Hahaha…newsflash. I have read both Sarum and London, and loved them. In fact, Sarum is reviewed here on this blog! I know I am loving the current glut of urban fantasy right now—at least the better stuff—but believe me, I have read historical novels all my life, SC. I read Sarum & London when they first came out, in fact. And everything Michener ever wrote, plus Alexander Thom’s books, too. (From Sea to Shining Sea is reviewed on here, as well.) So, neener, neener, neener. I read EVERYTHING. Now Dan Brown isn’t always my cup of tea, but I did enjoy The Da Vinci Code.

      See…once again, we are more alike than we are different! Now if I could just get you to see the fun in a good Urban Fantasy, we’d be even!

      😀

      Like

  2. I enjoyed Stardust. I haven’t found a author better at Gaiman that creates such a gauzy feel of partial reality. Great fun.

    I just finished a rare non-fiction book: Bad Astronomy, by Philip Plait. It’s very well-written and goes into all the incorrect preconceptions people have about the earth, the moon, the solar system and the universe.

    And I’m just getting started with NOS4A2, Joe Hill’s new horror book.

    Like

    • Hi, Steve! I was hoping you’d stop by. Yeah, I’m really learning to enjoy Gaiman. I have read Joe Hill before and enjoyed him. I will be checking this one out, too. LOVE the title! I wonder how many people miss the meaning. Very clever!

      I’m adding it to the To Be Read list.

      Thanks for visiting. Give Penny a pat for me.

      Like

  3. I am reading a bio of Bing Crosby and a bunch of manuscripts!

    Like

    • Oh, that sounds interesting. Well, at least the bio. I guess I’d have to know more about the manuscripts before deciding if they sounded interesting, too. Is the Bing Crosby bio a new one?

      Like

      • No, it is from 2001. It traces his life from birth (1903) to 1940. The manuscripts are a little of everything. Good and/or bad, at least I am not bored!

        Like

  4. Susana on said:

    Hi Marcia 🙂
    I’ve also read Stardust, and i really liked it. I can’t say that i’m a big fan of Neil Gaiman, because i only read two books of the author. I’m affraid i didn’t appreciate “Good Omens”. But i have “Neverwhere” to read…

    Right Now, i’m reading “The Tenth Kingdom” a novelization of Kathryn Wesley of the Screenplay by Simon Moore. I used to be a big fan of the series, so i had to buy the book. Of course the series is better..but even so its good to “see” Wolf and Virginia..

    Before that, i finished the “Rising” by Kelley Armstrong and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. The last one was amazing.
    Hope all is well with you 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Susana! Good to see you stopping by. I’ve been much better, since I got rid of the pneumonia, thanks. Hope you’ve been well, too.

      I am enjoying Stardust, but I have to say, I liked Neverwhere much better. It engaged me more, and was, in general, much bigger on Creep Factor. Stardust is fun, but I’m not as pulled into the tale as I was with Neverwhere. I also dearly loved The Graveyard Book. Now THAT was fun!

      I like Kelley Armstrong and I’m way behind on her series. I have several of her books in my To Be Read basket, and this reminds me I need to get back to them. Scarlet is on my To Be Read list, too. Thanks for the reminders.

      Good to hear from you! Don’t be such a stranger.
      🙂

      Like

  5. Just finished Soul’s Child by Dianne Gray, and am starting today on Maddie Cochere’s books, Susan Hunter Mysteries. She’s a fun blogging friend, so I thought I’d give her books a read. I’d place them as almost teen fiction, but maybe young adult. Cute, lots of fashion, shopping and eating. 🙂

    Like

    • Taking notes, Marsha! Don’t read too many out and out mysteries, though I love Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Milhone alphabet series. I’ll check these out, though. Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

      Like

  6. I’m reading American Gods by Neil Gaiman, a restored version that’s even longer than the first printing.
    Hope I get it done before it’s due back at the library!

    Like

    • I had to quit going to the library. I found I didn’t want to give the books back! 😆

      American Gods is on my list. Actually, I plan to work my way through everything by Gaiman, book by book. Same with Terry Pratchett. I’ve missed out on these two guys for far too long.

      Thanks for stopping by, Caitlin! Always good to see you here. Hope you finish the book in time. No late fees.
      😉

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

anita dawes and jaye marie

words, glorious words...

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

