Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Death’s Rival by Faith Hunter

12889903

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

It’s 4:00am here in central Florida. I just finished reading Death’s Rival and am totally unable to sleep. A combination of too many kick-butt pneumonia- fighting drugs, or  an overdose of kick-butt vampire-killing Jane Yellowrock in action? I can’t really decide which. But I figure if I’m wide awake, I may as well use the time for something productive, like reviewing this outstanding addition to Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock series. Dang, this book was good! Hands down, the best in a pretty good series, in my opinion.

Jane Yellowrock is a Cherokee skinwalker, who shares her body with Beast, a large mountain lion. Her methods of shifting forms are not like any other I’ve ever read about, and her past history is quite unusual. The books have grown in complexity over the series (this is #5) and Jane has become more and more fascinating, bimbo-factor cover art notwithstanding.

VERY SLIGHT SPOILER COMMENTS:  I was left less than satisfied with the ending of Book #4, Raven Cursed, since I’ve been a big Rick LeFleur fan from the start of the books, and that relationship was taking a real nose-dive. I had thought what happened to Rick in the previous book, Mercy Blade, would bring the two of them closer, but instead it drove a wedge between them. Of course, there was always Bruiser, the Uber-sexy, but oh-so-bound-to-big-bad-vampire, and thus a blood servant (eewww) that Jane has always been attracted to. Bruiser showed up in this book as even Uber-er Sexy, with new added talents, and all the potential for taking Jane’s mind off of Rick. But then along came Eli! Ricky-Bo, and Bruiser, and Eli, oh my! One thing Jane does not lack for in her life is attention from sexy men. Why settle for one love interest, when three could be thrice as nice, eh? 

For those more interested in vampire politics, rapid-paced action, and intriguing mysteries, than in the romantic entanglements, there’s plenty of that and some to spare, spread out over New Orleans and even into a bayou or two. It was a riveting plot, and I was loving every minute of it…right up to the end. Suddenly, disaster struck. Things happened. People were hurt, including Jane. And then…once again…Jane managed to blow it. GAH.  Just when I thought she had it all worked out, and was finally going to get it right, too. Again?  *Sigh* Now I HAVE to read Book #6. (I guess there is a method to Faith Hunter’s madness, after all.)

Bottom line, if you like well written Urban Fantasy with a focus on interesting Cherokee customs and lore, plenty of action, lots of sexy men lusting for your heroine, and the usual assortment of things that go bump in the night PLUS a few not so usual ones, I recommend this series. If you’ve been reading it all along, this latest book should really get your attention. Of course, the ending might be a bit disappointing to you, if you prefer your romances to run a bit more smoothly. But then, when you have three men (so far) to choose from, maybe losing one isn’t quite such a big deal. Made ME sad, though.  Check it out for yourself, and see what YOU think.

Death’s Rival: A Jane Yellowrock Novel

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin It, its a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Death’s Rival by Faith Hunter

  1. Books run on conflict, so I hope for, but don’t expect, romances to work out. And Jane has trust issues piled on abandonment issues sprinkled with some killer secrets, so it’s not surprising how bad she is at relationships.

    Like

    • Have you read this one, Caitlin?

      I don’t expect relationships to work out right away, of course, but I do expect them to make progress in that direction. My favorite guy gets practically written out of the story, then again, maybe not, and then again, Jane blows it yet another time? ARRRGGGHH. And to be honest, I had no trouble knowing she was totally wrong with her conclusion in this case, right from her first shocked reaction. She should have known better, too. She’s not stupid, and it had only been a few hours since these things were discussed, for Pete’s sake. Her trust issues need to start sorting themselves out, unless this time is really the end.

      Don’t get me wrong. This is still the best book in the series, in my opinion, but the ending has been tormenting me. I find I am thinking about it a lot, especially right before I drift off to sleep. That one particular scene where it all goes BOOM just replays in my mind. It’s not conducive to a good night’s rest. I have REAL people to be worrying about, and here I am worrying about a trust-impaired, skin-walking Cherokee woman who is a figment of someone else’s imagination! Or maybe I’m just worrying about Rick.

      🙂

      Like

      • Yep, I have read it.
        Do you have Blood Trade, the next one, on your list?
        I’ve read it too, and I’m not sure it’s going to make you happy. A few things are resolved, but not much.

        Like

        • I expect Blood Trade to arrive Wednesday. Somehow I got a book behind on the series, and didn’t order it when it came out. I don’t mind if things aren’t totally resolved in the next book. I’d just like to think Rick hasn’t been thrown by the wayside? I frankly don’t blame him one bit for walking. But I feel really sad for him. He deserved better. And I’m mad at Jane! I’m thinking beast will never want her to be monogamous, anyway, but I’m hoping she will prevail, and with the right guy. For me, that’s still Rick. Eli has potential, but Bruiser…sexy or not…well, his total blood-slave-iness just creeps me out. It’s almost as icky as Leo is. Gah. He makes me want to run far, far away. On a bike. With Rick. Hahahaha.

          Like

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

