Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs

13413589

My Rating: 3-1/2 out of 5

Let me start by saying that I think Patricia Briggs is a fine Urban Fantasy writer. I have enjoyed the Mercy Thompson series very much over the years, and the spin-off Alpha and Omega series even more. So I am sorry to have to give what would have been a solid 4-star book a 3-1/2 star rating. But Briggs broke one of my cardinal rules and decided to mix in some comments about real life politics in the middle of a story about werewolves, fae, vampires, and ghosts. I was so upset by this, I very nearly did not finish the book, but I really wanted to know what would happen next so I kept reading. (My usual response when this happens is to hurl the book across the room and never read another word in the rest of the series.  I REALLY hate this and find it inexplicably stupid. In a country that is divided right down the middle politically, I fail to understand why any Urban Fantasy writer would want to insult and/or alienate half of their possible audience. And I feel that way no matter which side of the political aisle they are insulting. If you aren’t writing a book on politics, kindly leave it out of my escapist reading, thank you.)  At any rate, I made a deal with myself that I would continue reading IF no further mention was made of any real life political parties or groups. Luckily, things did not go any farther in that direction and I was able to enjoy the rest of the book.

Mercy is an interesting character who can shift into the form of a coyote, but who is very different from a were-animal and has certain powers and magic unique to herself. I like many of the characters in her world, including her mate, Adam, the Alpha wolf of the local pack. I have never felt any serious chemistry between the two of them, for some reason, but I do enjoy their interactions. Frost Burned would be the exception to that, and I really did find their chemistry much more intense. It added a nice element to an action-filled story that I ended up enjoying a lot. There were plenty of surprises, especially during the big battle scene, and I particularly liked the way the “queen” of the local vampire seethe, Marsillia, was portrayed this time. She seemed to have a bit more depth to her character, which I thought made her a more intriguing figure.

If you love this series already, you will probably enjoy Frost Burned, unless you are even touchier about the political thing than I am. (Hard to imagine that, though.) If you have never tried any of the books, I do recommend them for you Urban Fantasy fans. They are all well-written and with any luck, I will be able to give the next one a full four stars again. Pay no attention to the cover art, btw…Mercy has a much lower Bimbo Factor than it implies. And not nearly that many tattoos, either.

Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, Book 7)

Pet Peeve #3 – The One About Political Intrusion

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin It, its a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs

  1. Won’t it be fun when someone reviews YOU on their book-blog??

    Like

    • Probably NOT! I’m sort of dreading the day! But of course, in order to be reviewed, you have to be READ, and that part is nice. 😀 And at least I won’t get slammed for mixing real life politics with escapism fantasy. That I know I will never do. I welcome readers of all political persuasions! Oh, and btw, I am very aware of the fact that I have much to learn from writers like Patricia Briggs who has never let me down until this one little section of Frost Burned. Otherwise, she is a writer I admire and respect greatly.

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

