Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading Today?

kid-reading-book

Been a bit under the weather for the past week, but I’m vertical today, and ready to catch up with my blogs again.  I thought I’d start the ball rolling with a quick “What Are You Reading” post.  I’m actually reading two books at once, currently.  I guess lying around all day with no desire to lift a finger to do anything productive in the house or garden means I can read double time.  It’s something I do now and then, anyhow, but feeling “puny,” as my grandmother would say,  gives me a legitimate excuse to indulge in as many books as I want.  That’s MY story, anyway!

I finally started Kim Harrison’s latest Hollows book, Ever After, and, as usual, Harrison’s “Itchy Witch” is involved in yet more trouble as the Mother of All Demons tries to bring about the end of…well…pretty near everything.  Normally, I read a Hollows book straight through, but this one was making me so nervous and tense, I had to take a break.  Bad things were happening. And more bad things were ABOUT to happen. And I didn’t like some of the directions the plot was headed. Since I haven’t finished the book, I’ll wait to see how it all turns out before I say anything else.  But it DID rile me up, considerably, and sometimes I just don’t want to watch my favorite characters in a series suffering so much.  I’ve got my fingers crossed that the last half of the book gives me something positive to hold on to, since the series is winding down, and right now, things look grim.

While taking a break from Ever After, I picked up a book I downloaded for my Kindle for FREE last week. Oh, I love free books!  Even if I don’t know if the book is going to be all that good, if it’s free, I grab it and put it in my To Be Read Kindle Folder for a later date.  For some reason, this one looked like something probably light and unremarkable. I thought it would take my mind off of the nail-biting drama of Ever After.  Well, it did that, all right!  Turns out A Hidden Fire: Elemental Mysteries Book 1  by Elizabeth Hunter is NOT a lightweight paranormal romance, at all. It’s not a lightweight anything! It’s a very well written and thoroughly engrossing tale. Yeah, it’s got vampires, but not quite like any I’ve read about before.  No sleezy, bare-chested, bodice-ripping blood suckers here, though there are some moonlight swims sans suits, now and then, just so you won’t forget that the guy is built like a Greek god. The heroine is intelligent, funny, and very appealing, without much in the way of IHS (Idiotic Heroine Syndrome), and there is a very intriguing mystery to be solved, too.  I am totally caught up in this carefully paced tale of history, treachery, and…tada!…BOOKS. Lots of books, and historical letters, and documents, and libraries, and…oh yeah,  500 year old vampires, too.

I can’t wait to finish this one and review it. And I am definitely planning to read the rest of the series.  More on that, too.  Now back to A Hidden Fire for me, and the slow burn that carefully constructed sexual tension can create when a writer takes the time to let the characters gradually discover what they feel for each other. 

So…what are YOU reading?  As always, I can’t wait to hear, and I likely will be making notes for my Wish List from some of your responses, so please jump in and tell us.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “What Are You Reading Today?

  1. Glad to hear that you’re on the mend!

    I just finished a book that I thought was a real treasure: “Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore” by Robin Sloan. Smart, funny, and a refreshing blend of fantasy elements and a tech background. Super fun.

    Just starting “House of Leaves” by Mark Danielewski. He’s sort of an avant-garde author and the book is 700 pp long, so this book will probably be my “what are you reading?” answer for a while! 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, those 700 page tomes! Good luck with that, and be sure to let us know how you like it.

      Mr. Penumbra sounds like something I’d really like. I’m checking that one out, for sure. Thanks, Steve! It’s always good to see what you’re up to. Heading off to add Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore to my Wish List on amazon, where I keep track of what I want to read next. And next, and next, and next. Geeesh, it’s a long list!

      Have a great day, and thanks for the well wishes. I’m definitely mending, here.

      Like

  2. I’m so sorry you’ve been feeling poorly. I’ve missed you!

    I just started reading Only Time Will Tell by Jeffery Archer. So far I’m enjoying it. Whenever it’s time to start a new book I tend to get lost in the samples. I send so many to myself, and then I get all confused! Sometimes its too much of a good thing. 🙂

    Like

    • Ha. I’m of the opinion that one can never have too much of a good thing. I’m definitely not a less is more kinda person. MORE is more in my book! But I do know what you mean. I can forget about books that I’ve stacked up here and there, both in my basket and on my Kindle. I am making note of Only Time Will Tell. Gotta see what my peeps are readin’! Good to see you, too!

      (Just in case you didn’t see them, I sent you a couple of private messages. If you get a chance….?)

      Like

  3. I have almost finished the book “God Loves You” but stopped reading since I am getting caught up on Downton Abby…boy am I hooked on that show. It is like a book that came to life. 😉

    Like

    • Hi, Patty. Nice to see you here tonight. I don’t watch very much tv any more, but if I did, Downton Abbey sounds like it would be right up my alley. I love Maggie Smith, for one thing. Enjoy your viewing! Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  4. I am reading Modern Nature (The journals of filmmaker, Derek Jarman) and E.M. Forster’s A Passage to India. But I am reading both as thesis research.

    And some news. I know I gave a serious, melancholic speech about my hiatus from blogging. However, I keep on taking beautiful pictures of Gwendolen and have no one to share them with.

    So I have a new blog: thegardencat.wordpress.com
    I don’t have much time for blogging, but I’m sure I can post a photo now and again.

    ah, the vagaries of youth 🙂

    Hope you can forgive my inconsistencies
    Enjoy the new pics.

    best,
    François

    Like

    • How boring would life be if it were always…consistent! I had a friend who used to tell me (probably quoting someone more famous than he) that consistency is the bugaboo of small minds! So…that means you have a LARGE mind, Francois!
      😀

      And, my large-minded friend, I will enjoy checking out your new photos of the adorable Gwendolen. So nice to hear from you, and I hope you will be able to keep your blogging addiction to a manageable level. It’s hard, I know. I’m addicted, too.

      I remember reading A Passage to India long ago, and loving it. A couple of other Forster books, too…maybe Remains of The Day? My memory is rusty. But I loved his writing. Good luck on that thesis, and don’t forget, you can always stop by here to say hi.

      I’ll check out your blog later, for sure. Thanks for taking the time to comment! And btw, any time someone uses the word “vagaries,” I love it. It’s one of those words that I just like the sound and feel of. Like “whilst.” And “plethora.” Words. Ya gotta love ’em!

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

