Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

1-ba07b7651d

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

When I began this book, the opening pages immediately transported me back to 1962, when I read Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes for the first time; after all, a carnival, or a circus, that appears out of nowhere in the dead of night, was done pretty well by Bradbury in Something Wicked, and I wondered if there was really a way to do it better.  I won’t say The Night Circus was better, as the two books are apples and oranges, but I will say I liked The Night Circus every bit as much as Something Wicked This Way Comes, though for very different reasons.  While Bradbury’s book was a really creepy story that left me looking over my shoulder for years, and with a fear of carousels that has lingered to this day, Morgenstern’s book left me with a whole ‘nuther feeling, altogether. One much more romantic and dream-like.

I don’t know that Night Circus is a book for everyone, but I loved it.  At first, I was unsure of where the story was going, but even at that point, I loved the prose.  I’m a person who enjoys descriptive writing greatly, so Morgenstern’s style was right up my alley.  I felt she had a wonderful way with phrasing that worked very well within the boundaries of a book with a setting grounded in magic of every kind.  Why shouldn’t the words sound as magical as the events I’m reading about?  So, even though I had no sense of direction, initially, I enjoyed the telling of the tale from the start.  Once I actually began to understand the characters, I was totally hooked.  Writing that works for me, and characters I love?  I couldn’t ask for more.

Okay, that’s a lie.  I could have asked for one thing more.  I could have asked that the story not be told in such a hop, skip and jump through time fashion.  I’m fine with a story that has flashbacks or secondary stories set in a different time frame from the main story.  But this book traveled forward and backward through time to such an extent that I spent way too long flipping back and forth trying to understand the order in which things were happening.  I mean, if Chapter 10 was set in December 1886, Chapter 11 might be set in September 1904, then Chapter 12 might be set in October of 1886, then it might jump to 1901, then 1902, then 1901 again.  It would move ahead three days, then move back six years, with no discernible pattern explaining the skipping around.  I think it was just meant to be an imaginative way of telling the story, but for me, the whole Circus of Dreams was so beautifully imaginative in itself, it didn’t need the time travel trick to embellish it.  I would have found it much more enjoyable if the story had been even a slight bit more linear, but instead, the gimmick kept pulling me out of the story, in order to figure out if a scene was happening before or after this or that other event.  Hence my four star review.  I would probably have gone for 5 without that approach.

I have to say that I found the lives of the two main characters, Celia and Marco, to be painfully sad at times, especially their childhoods.  Marco’s cold, uncaring, and cruel guardian was detestable, but Celia’s miserable childhood was caused by her own father, and that was infinitely worse.  It was a miracle to me that they found each other, and were even capable of love at all, much less capable of the enormous sacrifices they made for each other.  But no matter what drama was going on with the various players in the Cirque des Reves, the overriding theme of it all was the hypnotic, magical splendor hidden inside each black and white  striped tent.  I found the book to be one of the most interesting and enjoyable I’ve read in a long time.  It made me long for such a circus to show up over night in my town, though I have no idea whether I would ever have the courage to enter the gates.

I highly recommend it to anyone with a love of all things magical and beautiful, and who has the ability to believe in ideas beyond what we think we know to be true.  It also helps to have a romantic heart, and a sense that love can prevail, no matter the odds.

The Night Circus

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. Marcia – As I mentioned before, I’ve had Night Circus in my hands many times and always put it back on the shelf. Now that you mention the depth of the description and the skills of Morgenstern as a writer, The Night Circus may very well end up at the check out counter. Excellent review.

    Like

  2. I really loved it, Sheri. It’s about as imaginative and descriptive as they come, so if that’s your cup of tea (it is often mine), then I think you definitely should check it out. I can’t over-emphasize how dream-like and magical the whole thing is. I kept wishing I could really see for myself these wonderful exhibits and rooms and worlds contained within the circus. Marvelous!

    Like

  3. This book, ended up being one of my favorite reads this year, mainly due to the quality of the writing and of its descriptions. There’s a part near the end, that was just magical. Probably the best description, and the loveliest “set” that i ever read.

    And i remember that when i started it, i thought (lol) i wasn’t going to enjoy it. But, by then i had already been hooked, and as the story unfolded i found myself completely enthralled by the imagination that had been poured on the pages.
    I’m glad you enjoyed it as well, Marcia! 🙂

    Like

  4. HI, Susana! I really did! It was lovely, wasn’t it? *sigh* Oh, those tents full of mystery and magic! I’m not 100% sure I love the ending, in one way, but mostly, it did what it needed to do, and was much happier than I was expecting. I will be reading this one again, for sure. Fantastic writing! I thought it would be something you would really love, as well. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  5. Great review! Oddly enough I reviewed the two books together this past fall — I’d listened to both audiobooks reasonably close together.

    I enjoyed The Night Circus, though I was never quite able to fully connect. For me, it also felt too much like Dr Strange & Mr Norrel and that’s a pretty high bar to be compared to.

    http://stevebetz.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/trips-to-the-fair/

    Like

    • Thanks, Steve. Glad you liked the review. I was very good and didn’t peek at your review until I was done. I liked the book somewhat better than you, I think, but I also don’t think it was perfect, by any means. I was able to connect with the book as a whole, once I began to figure it all out, but I was always somewhat at a distance from Celia and Marco. I liked them, but because of their very reserved and quiet and secretive natures, I never identified with them. Regardless, I was very invested in seeing how their stories turned out, and am still not sure I totally liked that part of the ending. But overall, it was a small thing, compared to the beauty of Morgenstern’s world-building and dream-like descriptions. I still think of the book as being hypnotic, more than anything else. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Nice to see you!

      Like

Let Us Hear From You!

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Life is complex, intricate, beautiful. Write it that way.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

