Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

What Are You Reading?

books1

Time to play What Are You Reading again.  With so much going on around here, Christmas has me making slower progress on my To Be Read pile, but I’m still plugging away at it.  I’m currently reading Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  It just might be the most unusual book I’ve ever read, and though I’m well over a third of the way into it, I have no real idea of where this is going. Morgenstern writes with a beautiful voice, however, and I’m completely fascinated by the Cirque de Reves (Circus of Dreams).

Are you reading something intriguing?  I would love to hear about it.  I get some of my best ideas for new books from your comments, so I’m hoping some of you will take a minute to update us. Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. I’ll be back to chat about books…. right now I have to run do some errands. But I’ll be back! 🙂

    Like

  2. Good, SC! I’ll be waiting!

    Like

  3. Currently pretty far into Perdido Street Station by China Mieville and the audiobook of the murder mystery Line of Vision by David Ellis.

    I reviewed The Night Circus earlier this year, (http://stevebetz.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/trips-to-the-fair/) but no peeking until you’ve finished!

    Like

  4. Hi, Steve! I promise not to peek. I really HATE finding out anything about a book until I’ve finished it. But I will check your review at that time, probably after I write mine, so I won’t be influenced. It is really an odd little book, though. Spellbinding, in some ways, but quite unusual. So far.

    I’ll check out the two you mention. I like a good murder mystery, for sure. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know what you are reading. Always good to hear from you.

    Like

  5. I’m peeking, Steve. I almost purchased Night Circus this past week but selected an armload of other novels instead. I’ve picked Night Circus up many times but have yet to bring it home with me. I just finished reading Love Anthony by Lisa Genova and will publish a review in 3 weeks or so. I have other reviews lined up before it. Love Anthony is an exquisite read and one that will stay with me for years to come. I was afraid Still Alice by Lisa Genova would be her best book ever; but Love Anthony is just as magnificent.

    Like

  6. Hi, Sheri! Nice to see you here. I must say, Night Circus is unlike anything I’ve read before, though I think the concept of a weird circus that just appears overnight comes straight from Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes. Still, it’s a very different type of circus from Bradbury’s, and the book is very compelling. I’m approaching the halfway mark, and still hooked, even though I really don’t know where it’s going. I’ll be reviewing it as soon as I’m done.

    I’ve never read Genova, so thanks for posting about her. Another one to check out. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it, and hope you’ve been enjoying yourself looking around.

    Like

  7. I’m still reading Pride and Prejudice, I am determined tonight to turn off the computer and read!!! 🙂 This is the second article that I read that made think of that book. It is very good, I am enjoying it but I keep putting it off.

    Like

  8. Hang in there, Patty! And when you finish P&P, let me know what you think of it. I’m ashamed to admit this out loud (or in type), but I have never read Austen. It’s scandalous. I don’t know how I managed to omit her from my reading list during my misspent youth, when I devoured most of books of the period. I read everything I could find from the Brontes, Mary Shelley, Stoker, and pretty much anything that was set on or near a moor. I have loved lots of productions of Austen’s books, so I know I would enjoy actually reading them, and I really should get busy on that.

    Thanks for commenting. I’m making a note to myself to start on some of her work SOON.

    Like

  9. My last reads were “Steel’s Edge” by Ilona Andrews. As always liked the story and it’s characters, so it was definitely another winner. Richard the main characters…well he was an endearing (well he had to be compared to his “noisy” and troublesome brother, Kaldar..) character.

    “A notorious Countess Confesses” by Julie Anne Long, the seventh book in the historical romance series “Pennyroyal” . It was pretty good. In the gender, the author is one of my favourites.

    Also decided to re-read the first psy-changeling book. A series by author Nalini Singh. The book is called “Slave to sensation”, its a paranormal/urban fantasy romance, and i’m happy to say that i liked just as much as i did the first time i read it.

    Now, i’m reading “Blood Brothers” by Nora Roberts. So far, its just okay.

    Like

  10. You’ve been busy, Susana! I’ve only been able to read a couple of things since Thanksgiving. And I’m glad you reminded me of Steel’s Edge. I KNEW I had a 3rd book here I wanted to read. (I also have the newest Jane Yellowrock book, and the newest Lupi book). I wasn’t as crazy about the last Edge book, not caring overly much for Kaldar and the girl. I just don’t like thieves all that much, I’m afraid. It wasn’t BAD, but it didn’t pull me in like Bayou Moon did. I got halfway through the Psy-Changeling book and lost interest, but I marked it to try again. (Sometimes I’m just not in the mood for certain things.) I’ve read a few of Nalini Singh’s other books (with the angels). They aren’t huge favorites, but I did like them enough to read about 3. I haven’t gotten back to them, though. I’m going to put them on my list to jog my memory. One of these days, I’ll finish them.

    I’m glad to hear that Steel’s Edge is good. As you and I always say, Ilona Andrews just can’t write a bad book! They are always interesting and well done.

    Good to hear from you! I’m off now to play with my granddaughter. We are painting a snowman for her dad for Christmas. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

M T McGuire Authorholic

Humorous fantasy fiction author... the books are quite funny too... seeking an agent, a publisher and my fortune.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

