Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Question for WordPress Bloggers

Since the system for uploading pictures changed recently, I find I can’t avoid having a slide show on posts where I have multiple photos.  In other words, if someone clicks on a photo to see it full-sized, they get a slide show going from image to image in that post.  I can elect to have it run automatically or have people click on “Next,” but I can’t seem to have just one image show up, when clicked upon.  I can’t find instructions under Help, etc, so I thought maybe I’d just ask other bloggers here if they know the secret.  Surely we haven’t lost that option?  Thanks for any info you might have on this.  I really prefer the method I have been using.  Maybe I’m just missing something?

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Question for WordPress Bloggers

  1. Hmmm… what page do you go to when you add a new post? Dashboard or from the top of the blog page or…?

    Like

    • I usually go to NEW from the drop down menu that appears when I hover the mouse over the name of the blog in question. Then, at the top of the “form” I’m composing the post in, there is a button for “adding media” and it used to bring up something quite different from what it is bringing up now.

      Like

      • Yes, they have changed that. But if you click The “Add Media” it should take you to the Insert Media Page. Make sure it is on the “Upload Files” tab (not “Media Library”). Then “Select Files.” If you insert more than one photo, they will display with a check mark in the Media Library–or click on the photo you wish to add. On the right you can add a title, select size, etc. and there is a blue button to “Insert Into Post” I have not had any slide show appear…

        Like

  2. I am having no trouble getting that part done. BUT. If you are reading my post and you click on the photo to see it enlarged, you see it as the first in a series of photos, with “Previous” and “Next” buttons at the top. All photos in the post are accessible from there, in a slide show. You can set it to run autmatically, or leave it up to the person to scroll through them. But you don’t get just an enlarged picture of each posted photo.

    I prefer it the old way, so that if anyone clicks on a picture to see it enlarged, they aren’t tempted to scroll through all the photos instead of returning to my post, and click on them in order, after reading whatever I might say about them.

    Examples: Click on the Mark Twain picture over his quote, and you are taken to an enlargement (which doesn’t happen to be any larger, actually). It is by itself on a black background.

    Now go to the “Testing photos” post and click on the top photo to enlarge it. Then click on it again to get it as just a .jpg. You will see at the top the “Previous” and “Next ” buttons and clicking on them will take you to the bottom photo of the little girl. For some reason, clicking on the Odd Thomas photo works correctly, as it used to. I can’t find any consistency in this process right now, and I feel I’m doing something wrong though I added each of those 3 photos exactly the same way.

    Like

  3. Alice, forget the examples I gave above. They are now working differently each time I click on them. GAH. Instead let’s look at an older post. In my Categories column, if you click on Celtic Mythology, for instance, and then scroll down to the post for The Raven Boys, and click on the image, you will go straight to a simple black screen enlargement. If you scroll farther down the post to Ashes of Honor, the same thing happens. All I want is to be able to have the images do that when clicked on. Now I get all sorts of different stuff, including the slide show, which I don’t want at all. I’m so confused.

    Like

  4. When I clicked on your test photos page, they come up as just the one photo.

    Like

  5. Yes, but they are not “stand alone” photos…there is a link at the top of the newer posts to go to “Next” or “Previous” and all photos in the post will come up in a slide show that way. I don’t want that. It is really bothering me that I can’t figure out a way to work around that. If you check out an older post, say the one on The Raven Boys, you’ll see what happens when you click on the photo. That’s what I want again.

    Like

    • SC, click on Biting Cold photo, and you’ll see what I mean. Since they switched the uploading process, I can’t get that again.

      Like

      • Or at least, I can’t get it consistently. Now and then, one pops up doing that, and I can’t figure out how to tell it to do that, ONLY. GAH. There is a reason I prefer the old way, honestly. I’m not just trying to do it for the sake of doing it.

        Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

