Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Dead In The Family by Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris' Dead In The Family Cover

My Rating 1 of 5 Stars For What I could Finish

NOTE: This is by no means the latest book in the Sookie Stackhouse series.  It is just the last one I was able to force myself to almost (!)  read.  Since I’m behind on reviews, I thought maybe I’d throw this old one out there, and see what others might think.

May 4, 2010:

Having followed Sookie Stackhouse’s adventures since the first book was published (way back in 2001, I believe), I have certain expectations from the series.  Sadly, Dead In The Family failed to meet them completely.  In fact, it was so poorly written (and plotted), I could not even finish it.  I felt that it skipped from here to there, as though it were a collection of disjointed short stories, and lacked any cohesiveness at all.  My personal opinion is that since True Blood debuted on HBO, Charlaine Harris has lost her Mojo.  She doesn’t even seem to know who her characters are any more.  (Sorry, Charlaine.  I really used to look forward to these funny, spooky, and very entertaining books. Those days seem to be over, now.)

Granted, True Blood is definitely the Alternate Sookieverse, and light years removed from these charming books.  You either like it or you don’t.  (I don’t, except for parts of Season 2, which were hilarious).  BUT…True Blood should have had little or no effect on the “Real” Bon Temps and its residents, as have been carefully detailed & developed by Harris over many years.

In Dead In The Family, Sookie behaves in ways that are totally foreign to the kindhearted & plucky girl we learned to love over time.  Her treatment of Bill is abominable, as though his dying of silver poisoning is nothing much to her, even though he acquired it saving her life.  Her relationship with Eric is domesticated to the point of being sickening.  (Who wants Eric Northman all tamed down and husbandly, anyway?) Even 2nd and 3rd tier characters sound & behave nothing like themselves at all.  

Maybe this was what Harris planned all along, but I can’t help but feel she has lost her way with the series, and really ought to bring it to an end.  It’s the humane thing to do.

Meanwhile, with a plethora of Urban Fantasy books available at every store, I have decided to bid Sookie farewell.  In my heart, I know how her story should conclude, so I’ve settled it up properly in my own mind and to my own satisfaction.  The End, Sookie. Live long and prosper. (Ooops.  Wrong genre slipped in there.)

Feel free to disagree with me, as always, if you still enjoy this series, but make sure you have read the first nine books before reading Dead In The Family.  Otherwise, you won’t see how drastically the characters shifted in personality and tone, and how much real fun was lost in the process.  Just my opinion, as always….

Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 10)

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Dead In The Family by Charlaine Harris

  1. I actually like her Sookie Stackhouse books. Her writing has helped me when I was really starting out…moving from a short story writer to a novelist. One of the reasons I picked up her books was the fact that she’s an Arkansan, like myself, then I kind of got into her books.

    Like

  2. Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer. I devoured her first nine books, and loved Sookie Stackhouse like she was a personal friend of mine. Plus I adored Vampire Bill, Sam, Eric, and Bubba. It was my favorite series for years. Then it all went cockeyed in that 10th book, and I hated every word after that. I keep checking to see if she’s back in the groove I loved so much, but she’s gone a whole different direction, and it just doesn’t work for me. I have enjoyed other books of hers quite a bit, including the Grave Sight series, and even some of her lighter mysteries, like the Lily Bard books. I just can’t get over the changes in Sookie’s world.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

