Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Voice Recognition? Not So Much So, Yet.

Well, I picked up a headset microphone today, and started checking out the built in Voice Recognition application included in Windows 7.  The good news is, the mike works. The bad news is, apparently I talk like I have a mouth full of half-chewed garbanzo beans!  GAH. 

Truthfully, I can’t say the application itself doesn’t work.  It dutifully types like crazy while I’m dictating.  And it works every bit as well as the closed captioning on my TV.  That is to say, beautifully, unless your goal is to know what the people on TV are actually SAYING.  An example?  Okay.  I said (or at least I THOUGHT I said) “I want to go tomorrow.” My computer typed, “I want to know your sorrow.”  Houston, we have a problem.

There is a very helpful section on training your computer to “understand” your voice.  Obviously, my computer needs lots more training.  Perhaps some kind of PC treat for transcribing correctly would be in order?  And maybe fewer threats along the line of, “That’s not what I said, you dumbass piece of crap!  Get it right, or I’ll sit you on the floor and let the dachshunds have their way with you!”  (That approach does NOT appear to be working.)

I guess it’s back to class for me and my electronics.  I will keep you posted as this story develops.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Voice Recognition? Not So Much So, Yet.

  1. salm145 on said:

    You poor thang 😦
    Back to the drawing board,for ya.
    Celia is gonna have a boyfriend and you still have not come to see her.

    Like

  2. Hey, I haven’t given up yet…on either the voice recognition stuff OR on seeing Celia! I’m just slow, that’s all. Another sign of my extreme advanced age!
    Ack! Don’t give up, Felix. Soooooooon…

    Like

  3. Since my hands are often uncooperative, I sometimes use voice recognition. It takes some patience and training, and I combine it with typing to have the best of both worlds. Sometimes I do find myself shouting into the mic–“The, the, the, I said THE!” However, it very accurately added a phone conversation in the middle of a document when I forgot to turn off the microphone.

    Like

    • Hi, Alice! Yes, as I might have mentioned when I first started posting about this, I have some issues with repetitive stress syndrome in my right arm and shoulder. It burns like crazy when I’ve been computing too long, and my arm will go numb and then throb all night long.
      😦
      So, it would really be nice if I could make this work better. I don’t mind correcting some mistakes here and there (I have to do that anyway, even with typing), but sheesh. It’s still WAY off for me. It would take me forever to write a book like this.

      Like

  4. Don’t feel bad. Even the automated telephone systems can’t understand me. I think that all of the voice recognition software is built for northerners with no southern data points, so they just don’t get our accents.

    Like

    • Hi, Anna! I was just going to email you privately and see if you had any experience with VR. And I was thinking the same thing last night. I definitely have an accent. I am trying to enunciate like a “TV announcer,” as per the instructions. Ha. I sound like a very effeminate Gomer Pyle doing the TV news! Slowly….Ve. Ry. Slow. Ly.

      Like

      • Nope, no experience with VR (except on the telephone), which is probably a good thing.. I do get carpal tunnel, but I’ve found that keeping my wrists warm keeps the problem down while typing. And you can only type for a few hours before your brain goes empty anyway, right?, then it’s back to the garden…. 🙂

        Like

  5. Good plan, Alice. I guess I’ll just have to write shorter books. I was demonstrating the application to my best friend today, and I started laughing at something it typed. Well…the harder I laughed the more gibberish it made up, until my friend and I were gasping for breath. Here’s a sample of what it was typing:

    “In some cancellation in some kit selects a buffet whack at the back of a a a a a a a man for all of god’s Babylon of the”

    Imagine. It got all of that out of my laughing. I never knew it, but apparently, I laugh in tongues!

    Anna, I wear a wrist brace at night if my shoulder/arm are bad, and it helps, but my problem is less carpal tunnel and more repetitive arm movements from the mouse. I just have to remember to take breaks frequently. And keep on training my computer.

    Like

  6. I am using voice recognition to type this response. It is still slow. But it is working. I could get to like this some day.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

anita dawes and jaye marie

words, glorious words...

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

