Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Vampire Empire: The Kingmakers by Clay & Susan Griffith

Clay & Susan Griffith's Vampire Empire:  The Kingmakers Cover

My Rating: 3-1/2 of 5 Stars

The Kingmakers is the 3rd and final installment of the Vampire Empire trilogy.  I have read many glowing, nearly rhapsodic, reviews of this book, but for me, it was definitely the weakest of the three.  I really enjoyed the first book, The Greyfriar, Vampire Empire Book 1.  It was my first introduction into a steam punk world of dirigibles and steam engines, and an alternate history of the planet.  It also had the most charming of swash-buckling heroes in the mysterious  Greyfriar.  I gave it a solid 4 stars for captivating me with the characters and the world building, even though the writing is less than brilliant at times.  Still, it was fun, and I was eager to read the second book, The Rift Walker.  I liked that book a bit less, though the level of intrigue was higher.  It didn’t have the same magic  for me that Book 1 had,  and this third book was weaker still, in my opinion. 

Part of it is that the writing was even less strong, but also, the focus on greatly detailed battles caused the first half of the book to bog down and move way too slowly for my tastes.  Some reviewers loved those scenes, but I really just wanted to get on with the relationship between The Greyfriar and his beloved Adele.  Call me a hopeless romantic, but the dynamics between the two of them interested me more than flying “steamnaughts” and giant robots, driven by riders inside, a la the movie Aliens

Though the series was fun, and I’m glad I read all three books, since I was really interested in getting to the Happily Ever After part, there was one subtle but persistent thread that was an annoyance all the way through.  Specifically, an anti-American theme that was thinly disguised, but ever-present.  It started with one character who was the most blatantly overdone and heavy-handed example of the classic Ugly American you ever saw.  Now, I realize he was meant to be a bad guy, and I was fine with that.  It’s just that he was a hit-me-over-the-head kind of loud and arrogant ass that I could barely stand to read about.  I would have preferred it if his faults had been a bit more subtle, but the in-your-face approach is what the Griffiths went for.  Okay, I just tried to overlook it.  But worse than this guy’s obnoxious loud mouthed personality were the little references to how bloodthirsty and crass Americans in general were.

Don’t get me wrong.  The Griffiths are  entitled to their opinion of America and Americans.  We aren’t perfect, by any means.  Still, it is off-putting to feel disdain for my country seeping into the fabric of the story, even though it was subtle, as I say.  And, as I have mentioned before, I do not enjoy politics of any kind popping up in my fictional escapist reading.  I have plenty of non-fiction political history books on my shelves for when I want to read about that subject. For one thing,  I can’t take anyone’s opinion on what’s going on in the world today seriously when I’m reading a book about body density altering vampires who float above the earth, and descend in blood-thirsty hordes to rip, slash, and brutally murder humans, referred to as their “herds.”  Vampire books, werewolf books, zombie books, you name it…just leave out the politics, please, especially if you plan to sell lots and lots of books in a country you have so little regard for. Some of us WILL notice.

So I had that little irritation going on, but I really loved the character of The Greyfriar, and I wanted to see how it all turned out.   I stuck with the book, and overall, was glad I did.  There were finally even some honorable, self-sacrificing Americans at the end, who bravely gave their all for the good of humanity.  They sort of made up for the Ugly American and his so-called bloodthirsty country; therefore,  I’m trying to be open-minded about the earlier slights.  It was just hard to see Americans being portrayed as idiots, while Persians are portrayed as intelligent, caring people, who play a big part in the salvation of the world.  (For those not up on their history, Persia is the old name for Iran.)  So try as I might, these little things were very bothersome to me, but in the interests of “art,” I pushed them to one side as best I could and soldiered on.

The story was still imaginative, The Greyfriar and Adele were a great couple, and the concept of geomancy was new to me and very interesting.  All in all, the writing wasn’t particularly strong, and the political slant was a bit off-putting for me, though probably not noticeable to everyone;  but the world-building was fun, and The Greyfriar was a touching and sweet character, perplexed as he was by humanity, and striving so hard to understand us. 

Bottom line, there are enough fun things in the series to make me recommend it to those who like the genre, and won’t be offended by subtle touches of real life bias slipping in here and there.  While many reviewers like the third book best, due to the non-stop action, I prefer the first one, which dealt more with character studies, and which had long periods of quiet discovery.  It was less exciting, perhaps, but more touching.  If you decide to give the series a go, stop back by here and let me know what you think.  I welcome discussion on any of my reviews, especially if you have a different take on things.

The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire, Book 1)

The Rift Walker (Vampire Empire, Book 2)

The Kingmakers (Vampire Empire, Book 3)

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Vampire Empire: The Kingmakers by Clay & Susan Griffith

  1. This is not a genre I’ve ever tried, and I don’t think I will (just because I have so many books on my ‘must read’ list) …. BUT … I found your review a delight to read!

    I loved this part: ” For one thing, I can’t take anyone’s opinion on what’s going on in the world today seriously when I’m reading a book about body density altering vampires who float above the earth, and descend in blood-thirsty hordes to rip, slash, and brutally murder humans, referred to as their “herds.” ” Gave me quite a chuckle!

    Thanks for making me a little smarter about something I know nothing about. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi, SC! Good to see you here, and thanks for commenting, especially when it isn’t a genre you enjoy. I wrote this quite late last night, and am afraid to re-read it this morning to see what mistakes I missed, but I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Yeah, I have rules about politics in my fiction, and most especially in urban fantasy, a genre I read to escape totally and completely from the daily barrage of REAL horror that comes out of Washington and from around the world. In fact, I think I’ll make “gratuitous political comments” a subject for a Pet Peeves #3 post today. It really bothers me.

    Now, to be fair, Vampire Empire did NOT thrust any CURRENT politics or (worst offense of all) any current political leaders into this story. It was more a sense that even in this alternate history of the planet, America is crass, crude, and war-mongering, and exemplified by their most admired “senator” who is a loud-mouthed, pompous, over-bearing, and essentially stupid boor. Gah. Subtlety was not a big factor in this book, I’m afraid, with many of the characters.

    And yet, the things I did enjoy kept me reading, so I won’t say it was a waste of time. But it wouldn’t have been a bad idea to stop after book one, which had the strongest writing and character development of the three books, to my mind. Even The Greyfriar was less intriguing and more predictable as the story went on.

    Thanks for stopping by, and for getting my sense of humor. I appreciate it!

    Like

  3. Think I’ll add these books to my ‘to read’ list. Thanks for the review. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi, Jennifer!

    Good to see you stopping by. Because Vampire Empire is a combination of urban fantasy and steampunk, there are those who say it isn’t “steampunk-y” enough. But I found it a good introduction to the concept of an alternate future where huge dirigibles and steam-powered locomotives became the transportation of the future, rather than jet engines and fast cars. I’m not an expert on the genre, but I believe many steampunk novels are set in a world that has a distinctive Victorian feel to it, though with the addition of all these remarkable devices that came about as history goes down a different path than what we know.

    I think you might enjoy the first book, and then you can decide how much more you want to read. I plan to check out a few more steampunk books, myself, with or without vampires. 🙂 I believe they fall more into the Science Fiction category than urban fantasy, but I don’t limit myself to any genre, if the book is appealing enough on its own.

    If you do read The Greyfriar (oh, I really, really LOVE him), let me know. Come back and add your thoughts to this thread, if you can. I’ll be interested in what you think.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

anita dawes and jaye marie

words, glorious words...

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

KathySteinemann.com

Resources for Writers, Short Fiction, and More

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

