Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Pet Peeve #3 – The One About Political Intrusion

So far my pet peeves have been over fairly trivial things, but this is one I’m pretty serious about.  It can make me abandon not only a book, but an entire series, and often anything else written by that author.  What can it be, you ask?  Well, here it is: I hate, loathe, and despise the intrusion of  politics  into Urban Fantasy.

Yep, I really do have rules about real-life politics being inserted into my fiction, and most specifically into Urban Fantasy, a genre I read totally and completely to escape the daily barrage of horror that comes out of Washington and from around the globe.  To put it plainly, I don’t want to be hit over the head with an author’s views on either side of any REAL political issue.  It is very annoying in any book but especially when I’m reading a book about ghosts, ghouls, goblins, vampires, werewolves, skin walkers, shape shifters, zombies, the Fae, or mutant killer rabbits.  (Yes, vampire rabbits actually did surface in one book I tried to read lately–shades of Monty Python!  I wasn’t bombarded with any politics in that one, but the killer rabbits pretty much served the same purpose, anyway.)

I truly enjoy good urban fantasy, the same way I enjoyed Edgar Allen Poe, H. G. Wells, George Orwell, or H. P. Lovecraft back in the day.  It is by NO means the only thing I read, but I’m a bit heavy into it right now, due mostly to the extreme amount of it available everywhere.  I’m indulging my fascination with things that go bump in the night because I know the pendulum of public interest will swing the other way in time, and the selection will once again be slim.  

As you might expect, there is Good Urban Fantasy with thrills and chills galore,  well constructed plots, believable world building, and characters you learn to love.  Then there is Bad Urban Fantasy, with none of the above, and sometimes featuring writing so awful you can’t even finish the book.  And of course, there is Urban Fantasy that falls somewhere in the middle, with just enough good things to make it worth reading, even if it isn’t perfectly done.  But for me, even Good Urban Fantasy goes right on the “I Can’t Finish This Steenkin’ Book” pile when it resorts to hammering me over the head with the author’s personal political philosophy. Even when I AGREE with that philosophy, which does happen, though not as often as I would like.

The point is not whether an author is right or wrong in his or her political beliefs, though right–according to my own views, naturally–is marginally better.  But who needs it in a complete fantasy world?  Hey, you writing the book, there!   Think about it, please.  You are writing about monsters who turn furry under the light of the full moon, run through the woods in howling, slavering packs, and wake up in a ditch in the morning, naked, covered in mud, and reeking of deer breath! Do you honestly think I believe your political ideas are of greater value than my own?

It would be one thing if the focus of a particular Urban Fantasy book had to do with politics, I guess.  Say, if the King of Demons was a powerful senator or a prominent governor. (Notice I mentioned no possible names, here.) But that’s never the case.  Why?  Because no one wants to read about a zombie apocalypse on Capital Hill, other than the one we see in the news daily.  So a completely politically themed Urban Fantasy tale is unlikely.  No, instead some authors just decide to ruin a perfectly good, totally ordinary zombie apocalypse by randomly inserting nasty remarks about real political issues or persons.  Sometimes they even go so far as to identify actual politicians by NAME, which I find astonishingly stupid.  Seriously.  I read a book once that referred to “the idiot in the White House” by name, for instance.   (What, the actual president of the actual country didn’t set up a task force to deal with your make believe mutant killers for you?)  *sigh* The result of that one was that I not only didn’t finish the book, I never read another book in that entire series, and up until that point, I had planned to.  Nor am I likely to read anything else by that author. Call me crazy, but I say if you can’t manage your own pack of killer werewolves, best not to expect me to look to you for political advice.

I would think that as a writer who is NOT writing non-fiction books dealing with history, past world leaders and presidents, political scandals, or propaganda for whichever party you espouse, you might face very definite risks in doing this kind of thing.  Like, oh, I don’t know–alienating half of your possible audience, maybe?  Why?  Do you really think anyone reading a book with talking dragons in it will suddenly be enlightened, realize they’ve been following a totally bogus political philosophy all of their adult lives, and immediately  change their party affiliations so they can correct the error of their ways?  All because your dragon made a belittling comment about someone they may have supported in the past? I could be wrong, but somehow, I don’t think that’s likely to happen.  Chances are they will either be able to ignore your rude interruption of their escape from reality and read on, unaffected; or they will, like me, toss the book aside, totally insulted that you actually think they might base their next vote on what some talking dragon, sexed up vampire, or nubile, leather-clad ghostbuster believes.  Not bloody likely.  Pun intended.

This is an issue that might or might not bother anyone else on the planet, but it definitely bothers me, and there are some authors out there whose work I no longer read because of it.  Have a heart, writers!  Leave my fantasies untouched by current events, would ya?  I’d be ever so grateful.

 I’m just one Urban Fantasy reader, I know, but still.  I buy books.  Tons of them.  (Ask my husband!) And I talk to lots of other people who do, as well.  Some of them feel the same way I do on this issue.  Don’t risk turning off half of your potential audience by being unable to resist an opportunity to sneak in your personal political view.  Surely it’s not worth it?  Or if you really want to make your case known, write a serious, non-fiction book expressing those  views to your heart’s content.  That would be fine.  That’s the proper place for it.  It might even sell.  But I beg you to leave Urban Fantasy just that…a FANTASY.  I’ve got to have SOME kind of escape from reality,  you know.  And if not with ghoulies and ghosties and long-leggity beasties, then where???

As usual, I’m just sayin’…………………

************************************************************************************

NOTE:  The above post does NOT mean that I don’t care about politics.   I actually consider myself to be pretty well-informed on most issues, know what my core beliefs are, know who I support and who I don’t, and more importantly, WHY.  But as my day winds down each evening, and I settle back in the Comfy Chair, all I want to do is escape to another place, where the problems are vastly different than those I see on the 6:00 news.  I just think that’s a reasonable expectation to have when I pick up a fantasy book.

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Pet Peeve #3 – The One About Political Intrusion

  1. Politic belongs in horror fiction. Ha!

    Like

  2. Thanks! Good to know I’m not alone.
    🙂

    Like

  3. OMG!!! I couldn’t agree with you more on this Peeve…
    Sooz

    Like

  4. Thanks, Sooz. I’m glad it struck a chord in you. It’s always nice to know others feel the same way, especially when I’m ranting about something.

    🙂

    Thanks for stopping by, and for taking the time to comment.

    Like

  5. You make a great point. When i read for pleasure, it’s almost always for some sort of escapism, so I don’t want some “real-world” issue to intrude upon it. I got plenty of that.

    The one exception I think is usually dystopian novels which extrapolate some societal or political process to the extreme, but those tend to be more abstract in nature than hit-you-over-the-head — well, if they’re written well, that is.

    Like

  6. I agree, Steve. In order for a book to BE dystopian or post-apocalyptic, something terrible, usually societal or political, has to have happened. But you kind of know that going in, and are prepared. Plus, those kinds of novels aren’t usually about supernatural beings–except for zombies, of course, but I hardly ever read those. (Rotting dead people don’t normally do it for me.)

    It’s just that when werewolves are howling at the moon, and vampires are sucking necks somewhere, don’t come telling me how I should vote. Sheeeesh. Like you, I get plenty of that in the Real World. Leave my fantasies alone, thankyouverymuch.

    Thanks for stopping by! Always good to see you.

    Like

  7. PS…someday I’m going to review The Forest of Hands & Teeth, the one zombie book I really, really loved. Dark. Disturbing. Yet filled with hope and redemption. All this in a YA book. And a cool title, too.

    Like

  8. Marcia, you are a riot! Zombies with real political views. hahahaha That would definitely not be worth reading. It’s hard to believe that you’ve just been blogging for a short time. Your blog is very professional looking and sounding. 🙂 Marsha :0

    Like

  9. A nice list you have here! I totally agree with most of your points, it really annoys me! Politics within Horror fics? That’s interesting and really strange at the same time! O__O I wrote a post about my own fiction pet peeves on my blog so I hope you will read and comment with your own opinion telling me what you think! http://nynyonlinex.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/fiction-pet-peeves/

    Like

    • Hi, NyNy! I’m happy you agree. The whole idea is pretty silly, isn’t it? Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I will definitely check out your pet peeves, too. Have a great day!

      Like

      • It is pretty silly but are there any books you can recommend to me that have that in the plot? Quite intrigues me to be honest! And thanks so much 🙂

        Like

        • I have read several books and series that constantly let the reader know what the author thinks of certain real life politicians and political issues that are hot topics. I just don’t want to know this when I’m reading for escape, which is most of the time. I’m trying to get AWAY from real life politics and issues, so I don’t appreciate it much from either side of an issue. I would rather not share this info on my blog, though, in keeping with my philosophy of not being overly negative about writers here. If you want contact me off list, I will write you privately about it.

          Like

          • Oh ok never mind! I was just intrigued in what particular books included politics into it. Thanks for explaining that to me though 🙂

            Like

  10. I really don’t mind you emailing me, if you want more info. My addy is under “Contact Me” above.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Staci Troilo

Suspense, Passion...Fiction That Flutters The Heart

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

J.R. RASMUSSEN

fantasy author

Snake Buddies

Educate. Inspire. Conserve.

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

From the Pen of Mae Clair

Suspense/mystery author supporting other authors, and sharing folklore

