Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Autumn by Emily Dickinson

Pile of Pumpkins

Pumpkins…My Favorite Sign of Autumn!

I am told that today is the Autumnal Equinox, though here in central Florida, that’s hard to prove.  However, I have hope.  It IS under 90 today for the first time in many, many months, so perhaps fall is really on the way, even in Florida.  Therefore, in the spirit of hope, I present this lovely little fall poem by Emily Dickinson.

Autumn by Emily Dickinson

The morns are meeker than they were,
The nuts are getting brown;
The berry’s cheek is plumper,
The rose is out of town.
The maple wears a gayer scarf,
The field a scarlet gown.
Lest I should be old-fashioned,
I’ll put a trinket on.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Autumn by Emily Dickinson

  1. Such a nice poem.
    Reminds me of my childhood days in northern Jersey.
    In grammar school,during the early 1960’s. Emily Dickinson was required reading.
    We had to memorise her poems.
    The leaves of my persimmons, the wild and the cultivated,Japanese are falling and changing colors. As well as the fruits becoming ripe. My chestnuts are dropping from the tree. The love bugs are visiting. Yes it is Autumn,around here….

    Like

  2. Isn’t it sad that Emily is no longer required reading? As far as I can tell, not much is, any more. As if all those great poems and stories we read growing up have suddenly been devalued.

    Glad you liked this little poem. It’s short, but so perfect in it’s simplicity. Thanks for stopping by, Felix, and for leaving a comment, too. Hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow.

    Like

    • Emily still is required reading for many students. Mercifully true in good high schools that I know of in New Jersey, California and Ohio where I have taught. I just love the anthropomorphism she brings out of Nature and the succint way she describes in metaphor. She’s one of my top favorite poets of all time. I know for a fact that many artists are influenced by her writing. Don’t despair, Marcia!

      Like

  3. Well good for those schools that still teach something about literature. That’s nice to know, Rebecca, and hopeful, as well. I know MY kids never heard of her, except from me. I don’t think there actually was ANY “required” reading in their classes. They could pick and choose as they wanted for book reports, etc, and of course, they weren’t likely to pick classics. Or poetry.

    I love Dickinson, too, Rebecca. My favorite poem of hers being, believe it or not, “A Narrow Fellow In The Grass.” I’m fond of my backyard snakes, and think of this poem every time I see a black racer slipping through the lawn. The feeling of “zero at the bone” holds true, even when you ENJOY seeing snakes.

    So nice to see you here today! Thanks for stopping by. (PS…I never actually “despair,” though the urge is strong at times. Still…I’m always hopeful!

    Like

  4. Its really sad that literature and poetry is not getting much attention this day specially in school, they remove literature. And I miss reading poetry of Emily Dickinson and other poets

    Like

  5. I agree completely. When I mention some of the classic literature and poetry I was required to read, and often to memorize, in school, I get blank looks from most young people. Even my grown kids, at times. What a shame. Thanks for commenting, tolayskie.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

M T McGuire Authorholic

Humorous fantasy fiction author... the books are quite funny too... seeking an agent, a publisher and my fortune.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

