Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Flash and Bones by Kathy Reichs

Kathy Reichs' Flash and Bones Cover

My Rating:  3 of 5 Stars

When Kathy Reichs’ first book, Deja Dead, was released in 1998, I was really interested in forensics in general, and found forensic anthropology especially fascinating.  It seemed quite remarkable that so much could be discovered by examining mere skeletal remains.  When those remains are very old, or are only partial remains, it is even more remarkable to realize how much information can be gained by the close inspection of a trained eye.  I really enjoyed the early books in this series, and thought the good doctor Temperance Brennan was a nicely developed character. 

I have continued to read the series, pretty much in its entirety, over the years.  I believe Flash and Bones is the 14th book.  While I find the subject matter is still very interesting, the novels themselves have slowly begun to take on a sameness.  It’s not that they are bad.  It’s just that they no longer feel as fresh and exciting as they once did.  I think Reichs has tried to fix this problem by shaking up Tempe’s love life here and there, but I frankly miss her interaction with Andrew Ryan, her main love interest over the course of the series.  I’m not crazy about the way he’s been shoved to the side and new men have caught Tempe’s eye.  But that’s just me, and  I could have overlooked it if Flash and Bones had really grabbed me.  It didn’t.

Another reason why I wasn’t as into this book as some of her others is because the actual forensic work seemed to take a back seat to more traditional methods of crime solving.  I like it better when Tempe is in the lab, piecing together bone fragments and gathering evidence in other interesting (if smelly) ways.

The story involves extremist bio-terrorism plotted by some North Carolina local yokels who are basically caricatured amalgams of every backwoods bigot you ever read about, and NASCAR.  A LOT of NASCAR.  If you are interested in that particular sub-culture, you would probably enjoy this book more than I did.  It certainly had enough facts and figures about racing legends over the years to make dedicated fans happy.  Personally, I would have preferred more emphasis on character development and plot lines.  But again, that’s just just me.

I would really hate to see this fairly predictable but mostly enjoyable series turn into the same lackluster caliber of entertainment as the television show, “Bones,” which is very loosely based on it.  But I’m afraid it might be too late to stop a slow slide in that direction.  Surprise me, Kathy Reichs.  Make me eat my words by writing your next book with enough substance and excitement to keep me up all night reading it!  You’ve done it before.  You can do it again! 

In the meantime, for those who love a whodunit, even if it’s fairly obvious who DID dunit, and who would enjoy a story set in the world of NASCAR, give it a try.  And let me know how you like it.

Flash and Bones

 

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Flash and Bones by Kathy Reichs

  1. Honestly, book series have never done it for me. I can do trilogies, but I lose interest in anything longer, especially if I know that there’s no end in sight. I like stories with an end. That being said, this does sound like an interesting topic (Nascar aside) and might be a fun read if it can stand on its own. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Hi! So glad you commented, and with a good point, too. I don’t mind series, as long as they are growing, getting better, and continue to bring something fresh to the table. Trouble is, as you have no doubt found, many authors drag them out WAY past that point. I don’t know if it is because of contracts with publishers to produce X number of books, or various other things. Maybe they love their characters so much, they can’t stand to let them go. Or maybe they just don’t have any other good ideas for books. Who knows? But for sure, many a series should have been put out of “our” misery long before the end finally rolled around.

    I think you could enjoy “Flash and Bones” on its own merit. Reichs does a decent job of letting you know who the main players are, even if you’ve never read any of the earlier books. But if you are interested more from the forensics side, I’d say check out her earlier books, in particular, “Deja Dead,” and “Death du Jour.” I really enjoyed both of those.

    Happy reading! And thanks for commenting!

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

