Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Synopsis vs Review

Ever read a book “review” where the entire plot is retold in six paragraphs?  If so, then you know exactly what I’m talking about when I say that that is something I try to avoid when I’m discussing books I’ve read.  I figure if you want a synopsis of the story, you can read abridged books.  Reader’s Digest used to sell books that condensed 3 or 4  novels into one volume. Personally, I never understood why anyone would want to read them.  They just made me want to know what had been cut out, and then I had to go get the original book, and re-read it,  already knowing how it would turn out.  Ack.

Everyone has a different idea of how to approach a review, and mine is just this:  I am not going to tell you the story.  You need to read it yourself.  I’m just going to tell you if I liked it or not, and why.  How it made me feel is usually part of my reviews, as well as how strong or weak I felt the author’s writing style to be.  I will give it a rating, based on a 1 to 5 scale, with 5 being “It was brilliant/fantastic/lyrical/amazing (choose one), and 1 being “I appreciate the effort, but don’t give up your day job.”  And I will recommend you either run right out and buy the book for yourself, or just RUN.  The other way. 

For anyone looking to have the plot summarized, this isn’t the blog for you.  I don’t do spoilers, either.  Of course, sometimes when you review a sequel, it will automatically give away something about the first book, even if it’s just who survived to go on to the second book.  But nothing makes me madder than to be looking over a review of a book I’m thinking of  buying and have the murderer revealed or the big secret in the attic explained.  Before I even realize what’s happening, I no longer have much reason to read the book for myself. 

So, rest assured, if you are looking for a review rather than a synopsis, you might like what I have to say.  But you’ll have to check with someone else for that Reader’s Digest Condensed version.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Synopsis vs Review

  1. I completely agree, the whole reason to read a review is not to know what’s in the book, it’s to know whether or not you should bother to find out for yourself what’s in the book.

    Like

  2. Well said, Mike. I agree. I read a lot of reviews…a LOT…and I’m always surprised at the ones who rehash the entire plot. Now I do PLENTY of rehashing with friends who have already read the book. But it doesn’t work for me in a review. Thanks for stopping by. Hope you’ll enjoy looking around!

    Like

  3. Good policy. I read one essay about book-reviewing that had a good formula. 1) Tell what the book is about (without spoilers), 2) Describe what you think the author was trying to accomplish, and 3) Tell how you felt about 1 & 2 and whether the author was successful. That’s been a good rule-of-thumb (rules of thumb?) for me.

    Like

  4. I like this formula, Steve. Thanks for sharing it. I’m going to put it on a desktop Post It Note, and while I may vary from time to time, it will surely be a good guideline to consider. Sometimes emotion and enthusiasm take over, and I might find myself going in another direction, but this is a great way to start out, at least. Good to see you here this afternoon!

    Like

  5. Hi Marsha I am looking forward to discussing books with you. I see you are gal after my own heart, you read a wide range of books too. I am a new fan of Jane Austin, I loved Sense and Sensibility, and planning on taking Pride and Prejudice on vacation in a few weeks.

    Like

  6. Hi, Patty! So glad you found this blog, too, and I hope you will enjoy it. Yep, I read all sorts of stuff, though right now, I’m enjoying a lot of urban fantasy. But I have read so many genres over the years, that you will probably see all sorts of books popping up here. I have only read a bit of Jane Austen for some reason. That’s something I need to rectify. I have read all the Bronte’s, and plenty of things from that era, but somehow didn’t ever get around to Austen. I’ve seen several movies based on Austen books, so I’m pretty sure I would love them. And I’m making a note to download one or two to my Kindle immediately. They are probably in the Free books section, anyway.

    Thanks for stopping by, and please post often. Have a great weekend,
    Marcia

    Like

  7. Hi Marcia!
    I have to admit that like you, i also sometimes let enthusiasm get the better of me when i’m writing a review.
    But when i’m writing it, i try to be as concise as possible, referring what the book has made me feel, while at the same time trying to avoid spoilers. I admit i do sometimes enter a “one sided” discussion with some of the characters, and in that case CAPITAL letters, may end up “being” envolved. 🙂
    I like Steve’s formula. Good guideline for the next review that i tackle.

    Like

  8. Oh, yes…the famous CAPITAL letters, Susana! Like you, I use them a lot, too. I’m trying to be better, but it’s hard when you suffer an excess of enthusiasm the way I do. Italics are good, too. And many, many exclamation points!!!!! (See?)

    I agree. Steve’s formula is a very good guideline to use. Or TRY to use. (There they are again.) Good to see you here this morning. Hope you are having a nice weekend.

    Like

Let Us Hear From You!

M T McGuire Authorholic

Humorous fantasy fiction author... the books are quite funny too... seeking an agent, a publisher and my fortune.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

