Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Fair Game by Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs' Fair Game Cover

MY RATING: 5 of 5 Stars

I have to confess, I’ve had Fair Game since the day it came out, sitting in my To Be Read basket, unopened. For weeks, I’ve walked by it and mentally whispered, “Sooooon, My Precious!” (I like to torture myself that way when I have a new book that I KNOW I’m going to love. Kind of like saving the best thing on the dinner plate for last!) Finally, I let myself sink into the pleasure of another visit to the world as created by Patricia Briggs, and I’m so glad I didn’t prolong the agony another day!

I’ve been following the Mercy Thompson books since the first one was released, and of course, I went straight into the Alpha & Omega series as soon as they were released, as well. I had hoped this second series would be just as good, and sure enough! If anything, I like the Alpha & Omega series even better than the Mercy Thompson one. The worlds & characters do overlap, especially in the first A&O book, “Cry Wolf.”  But I have a special fondness for Charles & Anna. Especially Charles, who is a very complex, yet extremely sexy, character. His role in life, and his tight control over the ensuing emotional issues, is unique, and his stoic personality just tugs at my heartstrings. Not to mention, in spite of his terrifying effect on transgressors, he has a wonderful, dry wit, which only Anna and we readers get to see or understand.

Then there’s Anna, herself. Everyone who reads Urban Fantasy knows what an Alpha wolf is. But this series introduced me to the idea of an Omega werewolf, which I’ve not read about before. Anna is so interesting, and her power so unusual, it really adds a new dimension to a pack tale. She’s a lovely character, and her bond with Charles is very special. It’s a joy to read about the two together, and it makes me happy that they found…and rescued…each other.

Briggs has a way with developing her worlds that always pleases me, and the politics of the werewolf structure really pull me in to each story, regardless of whether it is about our favorite coyote shifter, Mercy Thompson, or our favorite deadly enforcer and his mate, Charles & Anna Cornick. I’m also very fond of the Marrok, btw, so while this is a review of “Fair Game,” it is also a testimonial to both of these great series.

In “Fair Game,” a rift has developed between Charles and Anna, and that was almost a problem for me. The first few pages made me feel really sad. I can handle all the trouble the outside world wants to throw at any of my favorite couples, but I hate to see them having problems that threaten their relationships.  I had to trust that Briggs wouldn’t let me down. She never had before, and sure enough, she didn’t this time. The book was riveting, and I loved every single second of it, once I quit worrying about Charles & Anna’s bond.

I usually save my 5 star rating for books that in addition to wonderful & clever plots, have something magical and lyrical about the author’s writing style. I won’t say that Briggs writes with the same poetic flow of my most treasured writers (Sarah Addison Allen, Marisa de los Santos, or Maggie Stiefvater, for example), but her writing style is exactly what these stories need. It is very strong, and always totally compelling, and that’s enough to make this book a solid 5 stars, in my opinion. I couldn’t put “Fair Game” down and finished it in 2 sittings (having been interrupted by my own “mate” who needed dinner). I can’t wait for the next Alpha & Omega book! And, in the meantime, another Mercy Thompson would be just fine, too.

As an afterthought, if you haven’t yet tried these books, what are you waiting for? Run, don’t walk, to the nearest bookstore, and get to reading! Be sure to start with Mercy’s first book, “Moon Called,” and read the books in order. They will make more sense that way, and you will be able to watch the complex character relationships develop. Just do it! Great times await you!

Fair Game (Alpha And Omega)

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

Let Us Hear From You!

M T McGuire Authorholic

Humorous fantasy fiction author... the books are quite funny too... seeking an agent, a publisher and my fortune.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Behind the Willows

...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Stephanie Hurt - Romance Author

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

