Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

A Newly Kindled Love

Image

To Kindle, or not to Kindle?  That is the question.  Buy MY question is, why is it an Either/Or idea for many people?  Surely, there is room in your library for both your favorite e-reader AND your favorite printed books?  I wouldn’t be without my Kindle, now that I have discovered the many pleasures it provides, but I also love my floor to ceiling library shelves, filled with my treasured books and magazines.  And isn’t it wonderful that I don’t have to choose between them?  Maybe you don’t, either.  Consider this…for many of us, there is nothing quite like the look, feel and even the smell of a new book.  I am a huge fan of good cover art, and consider my print books to be an intrinsic part of my home decor.  And I confess to walking by stacks of books and stopping just to run my fingertips over the art on the prettiest ones.  I know just how much I’m going to enjoy settling down in the Comfy Chair later, selecting one of those beauties, and turning to Page 1.  I would never give away all my real books, or stop buying new ones, especially if I am reading a good series.  I need to have the whole set lined up in a perfect row, to admire, re-read, and to share with others later.  Books that I have owned for years are old friends, and I treasure each and every one of them.

Why then would I consider using an e-reader?  LOTS of reasons.  The first things that come to mind are convenience, lower cost or even free books, and instant gratification.  Many times, I finish Book 1 of a series at midnight, and am so eager to know what happens next, I instantly order Book 2 on my Kindle, and am continuing in my story within mere minutes.  There’s nothing like having that option.  Another thing I enjoy with the Kindle is how comfortable it is to hold and use.  I have a bit of arthritis in my thumbs, and honestly, some paperbacks I’ve read lately seem to be GLUED together down the center of the book.  Holding them open for an hour or two at a time can be painful.  The Kindle is so lightweight, and a mere flick of the thumb turns the pages.  That can be a very good thing.  Plus I can adjust the font size and page color to suit my needs.

This is not meant to be a Buyer’s Guide by any means, but there is a reason I’m still using the older Kindle, rather than the new Kindle Fire or the Nook.  I don’t get color on my Kindle, but what I do get is a reading surface that is almost identical to printed paper.  Yes, I need a lamp to read by, because it isn’t backlit like a computer or smart phone.  But that very thing is what makes it so much easier on my eyes.  In an ideal world, I’d have TWO readers…one for magazines and other publications where color is desirable, and where reading a short article isn’t a problem.  And one for reading for hours and hours without eyestrain.

If you decide you want to invest in a reader, I hope these comments will give you something to think about when you are making the choice that will work best for you.

Whether you choose to stick with the printed page, or get a wee bit more high tech with an e-reader, the most important thing is to make time for reading.  Nothing enriches your life more!

How do YOU feel about e-readers?  Why?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Newly Kindled Love

  1. I love my nook (the old version with the un-backlit, black-and-white, e-ink screen) and prefer it for fiction. I can’t seem to talk myself into reading non-fiction on it, though. There, I really seem to want a paper book.

    I may eventually get a kindle too, because Amazon does have a lot of freebies (while Barnes and Noble’s freebies are sad). I don’t want one with a color screen, though, so it may be too late….

    Like

  2. Hi, Anna. I didn’t even know Nook made a non-back-lit (is that a word?) version. That’s cool. I imagine it would be just as comfortable on the eyes as my older Kindle. I might prefer most non-fiction in print, too, especially if it’s any kind of reference book. I like pictures and illustrations in my garden books, for instance.

    So glad you stopped by, Anna! Thanks for commenting. And I hope your packing is going well.

    Marcia

    Like

  3. I’m not sure they do any more — even though I’d like an ereader with better battery life, I don’t want to upgrade because I hear the new version is all touch screen (which I detest).

    Like

  4. There are pluses and minuses to the touchscreen types. I have gotten better on my iPhone, so I can use them more easily now, but I’d probably rather have the little buttons, instead. Except that the letters have started wearing off of mine, which is annoying. But I do love it, anyway. And boy, have I saved a ton of money and shelf space with it. It’s really good when I’m not sure of a book, too, because then I haven’t invested top dollar only to be disappointed. If I love it, I can always pick up a print copy later on. My Kindle battery is pretty good, I have to say. Lasts for days, and recharges in an hour or so. Still…my gluttonous, greedy heart would love to have a Kindle Fire and my old Kindle and printed books, and…and……..I want it ALL!!! *grin*

    Like

  5. Pingback: The New Kindle Paperwhite « Bookin' It

Let Us Hear From You!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

bookwraiths.wordpress.com/

Books! Where are the great books?

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Mostly Blogging

Practical solutions and established strategies to improve your blog. Suggestions that will make a difference.

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Story Empire

Exploring the World of Fiction

D.G. Kaye Writer

Thoughts on writing, life, writing tips, live laugh love

Lemon Shark

Navigating the Uncharted Waters of Life

DAKOTA DONOVAN

Hollywood Ghostwriter

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

carsonrenomysteryseries.com

'Life is cheap - make sure you buy enough'

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

booklovercircumspect4

A lovers review of everything books. Come for the reviews, stay for the pictures!

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

To Breathe is to Write

My World of Words

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

Skye Hegyes

Mother, Author, Blogger, Creative Enthusiast

Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Callum McLaughlin

"The stories we love best do live in us forever."

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Joanne Clancy

Writer of Killer Thrillers

elements of emaginette

Anna Simpson's blog for new writers

Crime Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

