Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

Re-read of the Month: Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

bayoumoon

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Do you have books that just call you back for another visit, long after you read them the first time? I do. Classics going back to Jane Eyre & Wuthering Heights, up through Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, and into many newer books, including a lot of recent Urban Fantasy. While looking for something to read at the hospital, as I waited long hours in my mother’s room, I decided to re-read Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews. I love all of their books, including the Kate Daniels series, but I was drawn to the stories from their Edge series, because it is such a remarkable world. And of the four Edge books, my hands-down favorite was Bayou Moon. I am happy to report that it was even better the second time around.

Bayou Moon features one of my very favorite urban fantasy characters, the remarkable William Wolf, a changeling handed over as a baby to be made into a killing machine by the powers that be. William is out of that business when the book opens, and living a lonely life, longing to belong to someone or some family, yet having no idea how to establish relationships of any kind. His journey is very funny–there’s a lot of humor in this book–and very touching at the same time. And of, course, the action is off the wall crazy. I was laughing as hard as I did the first time, and just as caught up in the battle against the evil villain, Spider–always a good name for a villain, right?–and his genetically modified henchmen.

If you have never read any of these books, do yourself a favor, Urban Fantasy Fans, and pick up the first one, On the Edge. Read them in order, even though they could stand alone. You’ll have a much better feel for the world-building if you do.  Bayou Moon is the second in the series, and while all are really good, this one is a standout.

Bayou Moon (A Novel of the Edge)

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit. If you are enjoying my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know! Thanks!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Re-read of the Month: Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews

  1. This isn’t really relevant to this post, but….

    I finally bit the bullet and bought a kindle, mostly because I’ve stockpiled enough free ebooks that I want to read that it felt worthwhile. I know that you spend quite a bit of time looking at the free lists. Would you consider posting when you find quality fiction that’s worth downloading free on Amazon? Or maybe you already read another blog that does that?

    I know it’s a bit tough since you have to download the freebie and read it in time to alert us while it’s still free. But it would be a real asset!

    (I hope your mother is doing better!)

    • Hi, Anna. I would definitely be glad to try to find a way of doing that, though it might take some thought. In the meantime, I will post links to two free/cheap book newsletters I get daily. You can tell them which genres you are interested in, and they will send daily notices of books that are cheap and/or free. I have found a lot of good stuff that way.

      Sadly, just as I got to the home to visit mother today, they were calling an ambulance to take her to the ER. She was having chest pains and they had to run some tests to see why. I’m back home now, but they will be calling later to let me know if they are keeping her, or transporting her back to the home. She was stable when I left, but she is just getting weaker and weaker. Therefore, I haven’t been home to do much of anything, and I’m way behind on posts. So I’m making a note to myself about your idea. I will figure out something when I have time to breathe again.

      And congratulations on the Kindle. I love my Paperwhite so much, it is ridiculous. I still buy print books, especially when it’s a series I’m collecting, or when I love the cover, but I have over 500 books on my Kindle that I would certainly not have room for in my library. And I love the features…like controlling fonts and size of text, and being able to pull up a definition just by holding my finger over a word. There are loads of pluses to them, though I’ll probably never give up print. I’m looking for the best of both worlds. :) Hope you enjoy yours!

Leave a Reply

Kristen Lamb's Blog

We Are Not Alone

Shout With Emaginette

Anna Simpson's Blog

Crime Fiction Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

The Write Stuff

With Romantic Suspense Author Marcia Meara & Friends

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Classy Cat Books

Words: They Mean Things

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for book reviews & book recommendations of epic proportions!

That's So Jacob

random thoughts 'n things from the life of jacob

Snakebuddies' Blog

Adventures of the serpentine kind...

Long Awkward Pause

A Humor Mag Of Sorts...

kyrosmagica

Blogging about writing and books. I am a debut author

Mel's Green Garden

Sharing a passion for gardening

Paula Reed Nancarrow

On Writing, Creative Practice, and Performance

Elise Abram

Writing in pursuit of inner bliss.

A Woman's Wisdom

A place to discover fabulous storytellers plus book reviews, life and humour.

Callum McLaughlin

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”

Touch Of Cinnamon

There are words that kiss us as if they have a mouth

Blog Woman!!! - Life Uncategorized

Been there, done that, & have seen too much. Now I write about it. Hello, my name is Robyn, mother, Metis, & paid communicator. This is my collection of opinions, stories, and the occasional rise to a challenge.

greenlightlady

As a still lake reflects creation, so may our hearts reflect the Creator's glory ~ Wendy Macdonald

The Author Who Supports

Connect, Inspire, Dream, Create

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Max Miller Poetry

Young Creative Writer

qui est in literis

wandering words

childoftheisland

Blog of writer Bia Helvetti

wherewolvestheblog

Wherewolves the Novel and Film

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 516 other followers

