Bookin' It

So Many Books. So Little Time. Let's Review!

A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

34501

My Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

In keeping with my promise to myself to read the four Tiffany Aching stories before starting at the beginning of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, I finished the second Aching book over the weekend. A Hat Full of Sky started a wee bit slower for me than The Wee Free Men, but it began to pick up pace rapidly, and I was soon totally immersed in this wonderfully entertaining world.  Once the Nac Mac Feegles showed up, I was a happy camper.  Who knew little six-inch tall blue men in kilts could be so much fun?  I mean, I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for men in kilts, you understand…what woman doesn’t? But usually, they have been men a little less height-challenged. At any rate, these little pictsies (again, not to be confused with pixies, as they are quick to point out), just steal the show. I love Tiffany Aching’s character, too, but the Nac Mac Feegles RULE!

Pratchett brings the characters of this world to life in a totally believable manner, and makes you care about every one of them. The magic things that happen throughout the tales are unique to this world and presented from a perspective that I’ve never seen before, skewed in a way that I find truly addictive. And if Tiffany Aching is the oldest 11 year old you ever met, well…it works, that’s all. In addition to wonderful character and world building, Pratchett has an elegant way with phrasing now and then that I really enjoy. And his humor, from the wry and witty,  to the laugh out loud hilarious, makes me glad over and over that I finally started reading this series.

A quick quote, just because I can’t resist the very subtle humor of this one:

“Tiffany was used to sleeping while, outside on the downland, sheep baaed and sheep bells occasionally went tonk. Up here, there were no sheep to baa and no bells to tonk, and every time one didn’t, she woke up thinking, What was that?”

If you love stories told from the perspective of clever children, and which include various interpretations of Celtic mythology, the concept of witches as guardians of those with no voices of their own, and all things magical, I highly recommend this series.  And if you’ve ever wanted to meet little blue men in kilts, with names like Rob Anybody, Daft Wullie, Slightly Sane Georgie, and Awf’ly Wee Billie, jump right in. You won’t be sorry.

I will soon be immersed in the world of The Wee Free Men once again, and will be reviewing the last two books in the Tiffany Aching arc as soon as I can.  In the meantime, check them out yourself and see what you think.

A Hat Full of Sky: The Continuing Adventures of Tiffany Aching and the Wee Free Men

If you decide to place an order with amazon, clicking through from my links will give me credit.  If you are enjoying  my reviews on Bookin’ It, it’s a great way to let me know!  Thanks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

  1. I love those books! Happy reading.

  2. Thanks, Caitlin. They have been one of my best discoveries of recent months. I don’t know if I would have ever actually checked them out though, if Jim Butcher hadn’t quoted Pratchett in his last book, Cold Days. I’m SO glad I did. I love everything about them, so far. Nice to see you, today.

Leave a Reply

Shout With Emaginette

Anna Simpson's Blog

Crime Fiction Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

The Write Stuff

With Romantic Suspense Author Marcia Meara & Friends

deborahjay

Mystery, magic and mayhem

A Random Harvest

What we are making, thinking and doing . . .

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Classy Cat Books

Words: They Mean Things

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for book reviews & book recommendations of epic proportions!

That's So Jacob

random thoughts 'n things from the life of jacob

Snakebuddies' Blog

Adventures of the serpentine kind...

Long Awkward Pause

A Humor Mag Of Sorts...

kyrosmagica

Blogging about writing and books. I am a debut author

Mel's Green Garden

Sharing a passion for gardening

Paula Reed Nancarrow

On Writing, Creative Practice, and Performance

Elise Abram

Writing in pursuit of inner bliss.

A Woman's Wisdom

A place to discover fabulous storytellers plus book reviews, life and humour.

Callum McLaughlin

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”

Touch Of Cinnamon

There are words that kiss us as if they have a mouth

Blog Woman!!! - Life Uncategorized

Been there, done that, & have seen too much. Now I write about it. Hello, my name is Robyn, mother, Metis, & paid communicator. This is my collection of opinions, stories, and the occasional rise to a challenge.

greenlightlady

As a still lake reflects creation, so may our hearts reflect the Creator's glory ~ Wendy Macdonald

The Author Who Supports

Connect, Inspire, Dream, Create

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Max Miller Poetry

Young Creative Writer

qui est in literis

wandering words

childoftheisland

Blog of writer Bia Helvetti

wherewolvestheblog

Wherewolves the Novel and Film

hollywood ghostwriter confessions

Crazy true stories and true crazy stories -- now in a comic crime novel: L.A. DREAMERS by Dakota Donovan

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

